JWC Day 5: Trip Wishlist

Today’s topic for my July Writing Challenge is a list of the top 5 places I want to visit. This is an easy one: London, Ireland, Malaysia (this one’s new), Belize, and Egypt, specifically the Great Pyramids at Giza.

London

london

Notice that the rest of them list the country, but I don’t have any desire to see the whole of the United Kingdom. From my understanding it’s grey and wet most of the year. We’ve discussed before that I don’t do so well with that kind of weather… But, I’m a Doctor Who fan, and so England needs to be on my list, plus I have it on fairly good authority that England is worth the trip. London has all the modern conveniences a girl (especially one who’s become accustomed to city life) needs to survive, but all the ancient history that intrigues someone as fascinated with history and folklore as I am.

Ireland

IrelandcoastI think I’ve talked about it before, probably the last time I did a blog challenge, but in case I didn’t, I had a recurring dream when I was younger that involved me taking my two brothers with me to Ireland. Each time I had the dream the coast line was a bit more dramatic, a bit steeper, as if I was going through time and watching the cliffs form by the erosion.

I’d want to visit the cities of Dublin and Galway, but I’d also like to go rock climbing down one of those cliffs. So, this is a trip for once I’ve lost some weight. I’m just not comfortable doing that at the weight I am currently, and I have lousy upper body strength, so this is a trip that will require a bit of working out to get ready for it.

And I wouldn’t want to go on this trip by myself. There are some trips that I wouldn’t mind going on all alone, so I can see the things I want to see, and it’s okay to get lost and find my way back to my hotel on my own. The trip to London, for instance, would be a good all by myself trip. But this one, would be a longish trip and I would want a partner in crime. Preferably a lover, if I ever have one of those again. *Sigh*

Malaysia 

malaysiaI know absolutely nothing about this place, other than it appears to be very beautiful, and it is where Yuna, my new favorite musical artist, is from. Just from her music, I get a spiritual vibe about the place, and as you can see from the pic, it still has cities and things.

I suppose all places have cities and things, but the images I’ve seen from Yuna’s music videos gave me a very jungle or forest feel. I think I’d enjoy a spiritual retreat through some of those jungles and things. You can see some of what intrigues me so in the video below:

I know I’ve shared it before, but that song really speaks to me. And the scenery is just so captivating!

Belize

belizeruinstourMy fascination with history and folklore draws me to Belize and the step pyramids of the Maya. I’ve been looking at a handful of eco-tours for that area of the world for probably about 10 years or so. There’s one that’s part hiking, part pyramid exploration, and part water fun, with kayaking and horseback riding along the beach. It’s a super busy trip, so, again, after I’ve lost a bit of weight.

But I’m working on that; I’ve lost five pounds since I’ve come home and have been in charge of a bit of the cooking. Today I made a Chile Relleno Casserole I found on Pinterest. It’s not the healthiest thing in the world, but it’s considerably more healthy than the traditional Chile Relleno, at about half the Weight Watcher Points and so filling, I’m still full 2 hours later, like slightly miserable full…

So maybe it won’t be too long before I feel comfortable in my own skin enough to go on one of those eco-tours sometime soon.

Egypt

Pyramids3NightThe last place that I absolutely have to visit before I die would be Egypt. After seeing the Mayan pyramids in Belize, I’d have to see the Pyramids of Giza. After all, they’re the only Ancient Wonder of the World to make it into modern day, and even be included on the Wonders of the Modern World as well. Plus, I do love me some Ancient Alien theory, and would want to get a look at the pyramids to see if there’s any evidence of ancient aliens, like they say in the show on History channel.

So, that’s my list. What places are on your have to visit list?

Leave a Reply

