Weekend Coffee Share: Easter blessings

This weekend, if we were sharing stories over coffee, mine would be a salted caramel latte at a place I haven’t been to in a while. I’d like to go back, and maybe I can talk the Boy into taking me, since we’ll be spending a bit of time together this weekend. I miss that salted caramel latte, and the food is yummy, too.

Actually, the time with the Boy this weekend is the biggest bit of news. We’re going to an event where we’ll be meeting our friends! So, for those who were concerned about him not having “claimed” me yet, it’s happening in person instead of just over Skype ( when I’d had an issue with thinking he’d kept me a secret, he offered to Skype with his friends to prove that he’d told them about me to ease my doubt).

There’s even a possibility that some of our mutual friends will be there, and he hasn’t balked yet, so that’s proof enough for me.

giphy (3)

Actually, I didn’t need any further proof. He’s been doing a pretty amazing job of just treating me well and making sure that my needs are met. Like last night, even though I’d already eaten, he tried to feed me again because I decided I wanted something sweet and he had bought me fruit a while back that I’d forgotten about. When I came into the living room with my little bowl of almost fermented fruit, he asked me if I was still hungry and offered to go get something, or to cook for me.

He’s very thoughtful about things like that.

If you’ve been following along on my blog (and not just the WCS), you’d know that I’ve been more enamored with the Boy lately, that I’ve decided that, yes, I am going to give him that nickname, even though it has previously been used, and that the person who previously had that nickname has been renamed the Ex and is mostly out of my life because we only care for each other because of “fish love.”

Even then, it’s not really love anymore. We don’t even understand each other anymore. At this time we are only Facebook friends, and only because there is always this tiny bit of hope in the back of my head that he will truly apologize and make good on some of the things he’s said in the past.

Not for romance purposes; that boat has sailed long ago. I just don’t like to think I was that wrong about a person’s character. I believe the Ex wants to be a good person, but there’s something that keeps him from being a really good person. Or at least by my standards. Somehow he forgets about everyone except himself. A lot. Other people had warned me he was not good in relationships, and that he was flaky and couldn’t keep appointments, and maybe that’s just who he is, but I can’t be friends with a person like that.

I still want to believe that he isn’t completely selfish and will follow through without needing a thousand reminders that he’d said he would do a thing…

But I’m not holding my breath.

holdbreath.gif

Meanwhile, like I said, the Boy and I are going to an event tomorrow evening. It looks to be good, and it will give us an opportunity to meet each other’s friends or at least to officially come out to some of our mutual friends.

I enjoy the Miller Theatre, though usually my hips hurt from sitting on the hard ground for however long. I usually don’t get up for the intermissions because it’s just too much chaos! It’s a fun venue, and they do a variety of shows/events. And it’s completely FREE!

Plus, if you bring a picnic complete with a bottle of wine, it can be relatively romantic, I think. If you’re in the Houston area, you should definitely check out their calendar. They have a little something for everybody!

This time it’s a Bollywood event.

IndiaHouse_BollywoodBlast_12_small

Here’s hoping the weather cooperates, because it is an outdoor theater… that could end badly if there’s a downpour.

In other news, work has been… interesting. The kids have been quite a bit wilder than I expected because they really think we shouldn’t have to do anything else since the STAAR test is over. I also haven’t been as together as I should because I was fairly convinced I was never coming back to that school.

However… I’ve been asked by three different teams/departments to come back next year. I’m still waiting to hear about that job I interviewed at last week, but it’s nice to know that if I don’t get it, I still have a job where I’m at. The English I, English II, and the ESL team have all spoken to me about plans for next year.

It’s nice to be wanted and at least somewhat appreciated… even though I’m certain there are those who think it’s a mistake. For that matter, I’m not entirely convinced it’s not a mistake!

But at least I have options.

matrixchoice

If I stay on English II, it means I won’t have to change much, and now that I know what the plan is, I can better adjust my own style to meet the plan set by my team leader. If I go to English I or ESL, I think I’ll have a little more control over the curriculum. With English I, I’m familiar with the curriculum, and it tends to be an area where we’re weak at my school, for some reason, so they’ll be open to my suggestions, one would think. Meanwhile, with ESL, it’s understood that things have to go at a different pace, and with more differentiation and effort put in, so there’s quite a bit of leeway there.

If I’m honest, I really want the position that I interviewed for last week, since it’s in a part of town I like better, but if I don’t get it, I’m happy with any of my other choices.

Plus, I still have applications out there. It would be nice to know before too long, though.

So that’s basically it in my world. Things with the Boy are great, I suddenly have options at work, and I’m in a new car, which is good, but my finances haven’t quite gotten back to normal yet… but everywhere else is progress. It feels like this Easter is full of blessings!

I hope your Easter weekend is full of blessings as well!

easteregg

4 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: Easter blessings

  1. What a nice and uplifting week you’ve had!
    Hope your Easter was wonderful and that the get-together with the friends went well!
    Sending positive vibes for you and the Boy…

Leave a Reply

