Weekend Coffee Share: #JustAddTea is coming back!

If we were chit chatting over coffee today, we’d be sitting in a very busy IHOP waiting for my waitress to come take my order. She asked me if I needed to look at the menu for a minute… nearly 10 minutes ago. Not cool.

But, in the meantime, I’d tell you that I feel excited about 2017. I am very convinced that it is nearly impossible for any year to be as tumultuous as 2016 was for me.

2016officiallysucks

At least personally.

I don’t have high hopes for the country. Or the economy, both national and globally. Or even the environment over the next 4 years for that matter!

The American people voted a narcissistic idiot in as president, and he’s already begun to show his true colors (not just orange). Each of his appointments for the various cabinet positions has been filled with someone who has the least amount of experience in that field. Or worse! Some of them honestly believe the department they are now in charge of shouldn’t even exist!

But, Trump isn’t new news, or even personal news. It’s not like the man has ever paid me any attention… even when I did tweet directly to him about his misunderstanding of dystopian literature.

What I wanted to talk about today was even more important… or at least in my little section of the massive world of social media. I’ve had a couple people ask me about our weekly Twitter Chats: #JustAddTea. When the school year started, I was struggling to keep up with it because I am very aware that I’m basically on the watch list at my current school. Because of my time off last year, and the consistent problems I had with the computer, and with paperwork, it’s not really clear if I’m a good teacher or not. I know this.

I also know that I’ve been told that my students’ scores were better than quite a few scores from the students of people who were there the whole time. So there is at lest a smidge of proof that I know what I’m doing…

But, either way, I’ve had to step it up to prove I’m a worthwhile employee. I needed to anyway. I’d let myself get a little bit lazy because I kept running into teachers who were of the mindset that teaching is just a job… That type of person really shouldn’t be teaching anymore, but whatever.

venspired-teacher

(I recently had that very conversation with a Tinderfella, one that’s not likely to make it to nickname status. He asked me what was more important: money or time off. I said time off because, “if I was motivated by money, I wouldn’t have become a teacher!”)

Anyway, the extra time, and the variety of mild to serious crises in my life have kept me from having an actual schedule. I’ve moved more and had more car problems in the last year and a half than I have in my life! Plus my mental breakdown last year and the subsequent absences and financial breakdown have left me close to destitute. I probably need to take on a second job, but don’t know how I could cram anymore into my days.

My mother would tell me it’s possible because she does it, but I’m not as strong as her. If I had to deal with even a tenth of the stress she deals with, I’d be in a padded room!

This year, something had to go, and much to my chagrin (and the chagrin of several other people), the thing that ended up disappearing was our weekly #JustAddTea Twitter chats.

noteaparty

At first, I thought I’d be able to keep it together if I just missed every now and then, but it quickly went from missing one week to try to catch up, to missing a month, to missing indefinitely! I even tried having a guest host, but she said she didn’t have much luck with it.

So. It died.

I took a vote, thinking I’d just move it to sometime over the weekend, but then I still didn’t seem to find the time to put it together, even though I don’t do much on Sunday mornings.

But I miss it. A lot.

And I’m not the only one.

So, the plan is to bring it back not this Sunday (I can’t imagine anyone wanting to get up tomorrow morning to do a Twitter chat on New Year’s Day), but next Sunday, the 8th. I don’t have all the details fleshed out quite yet. For instance, I don’t want to compete against any Twitter Chats of friends of mine, and so I’m still waiting on some people to confirm that the time won’t conflict with their events… but I’m pretty certain that Sundays at 11 AM CST should do the trick.

There it is! #JustAddTea will be back on a new day at a new time! And I hope to see all of you there!

comingsoon.jpg

2 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: #JustAddTea is coming back!

  1. Good luck with your return to your tea chats. I hope 2017 dawns hopeful and productive for all of us. Let’s just not think about the idiot heading for the Oval Office. I have a feeling that karma will catch up with him eventually.

Leave a Reply

