Weekend Coffee Share: Still busy!

This weekend, we’d be drinking our coffee while curled up in bed. The weather in Texas has finally started to feel like a season other than summer. In fact, it’s downright cold…or at least cold for Texas. My phone tells me that it is 55 degrees Fahrenheit. And that is pretty cold for Texas!

toocold

Meanwhile, the rest of this year is moving by very quickly! Things are starting to blur together for me, actually. We’ve got only two weeks left until Christmas break, and it’s basically just two weeks of testing for my kiddos. Which is also two weeks of me getting grades caught up and put into the computer. Something went wrong with it when I tried to put grades in from home the other day… while I was out with a sore back.

It’s still sore, by the way, but I can almost move normally again. This morning though, my back is feeling the cold!

My supervisor emailed me to find out what was wrong and I told her what I knew. The IT guy on campus finally told me to call the help desk. The help desk told me to call the IT guy. So it still isn’t fixed. Joy.

I tried…

Meanwhile, the time at the school seems to be speeding up. I don’t seem to have time to take care of it during the school day, and by the end of the day, the muscle relaxers for my back have worn off. I don’t bring them to the school with me. I just expect the last couple of hours to be uncomfortable, but they get a little hazy, like the pain causes a bit of a mind fog, meaning I haven’t been staying late like I usually do.

Of course, the muscle relaxers cause a bit of mind fog themselves, so when I’m home (and take a full dose instead of the half I take in the morning), not much gets done at home either.

watchtv

In the middle of that (as if that weren’t enough), there has been some development with my Tinderfellas.

Well… not development, exactly, just actual interest.

Normally when I talk about having more than one  Tinderfella, it’s because I haven’t met any of them face to face yet, and I’m trying to determine if they’re actually worth my time. This time, like I said in the last post, I already knew one of them. And though we haven’t had an actual date yet, he has been around, making the effort to kind of pop up in my life intentionally.

This is a bit problematic for me. It messes up my compartmentalization a bit. Where I know him from does not lend itself to the way I normally flirt with my Tinderfellas, and therefor I don’t really know how to jump back and forth between who I am in that place and who I am with my Tinderfellas. It leaves me blushing and flustered every time we run into each other… a thing that did not happen before with near the frequency it does now.

blush2.gif

And yet, the texting conversation leads me to think he’s not really interested. The other Tinderfellas have better texting conversations, meaning I’m a bit more intrigued with them, yet I’ve not met them yet and so it doesn’t mean as much.

Yeah, I know, I did meet that one, but as I expected he has disappeared. He ghosted.

ghosting1

It’s alright, he wasn’t worth all the hassle anyway. He kept trying to spring a meeting on me… presumably because he was looking for a hookup. So, then when we finally got around to meeting, it was still kind of spur of the moment, and because I don’t do that well, we began talking about meeting at 9 in the morning on a Saturday and finally met around 1, and then got back together around 4.

Both times I was late (he was lucky I went at all), and both times felt kind of strange somehow.

The initial meeting felt like I was being interrogated, and then he let me know that I should feel better knowing that he was actually a person… like there had been a doubt. And then when we got back together later in the afternoon, he definitely treated me like I was there for his amusement instead of us trying to enjoy each other’s company.

Don’t get me wrong, I had fun, but it wasn’t worth the 2 hours I spent in the car because he requested meeting at a different place then we had originally agreed to and I drove from his side of town to mine and back again. Twice.

I’m glad I didn’t go through the hassle of coming up with a nickname for him. He wasn’t worth the trouble. And if he ever texts me back, I intend on telling him as much.

notworthmytime

The third guy I mentioned in my last post has his son this weekend… actually most of the people in my life have their kids this weekend. The first guy, the one I know already, also has his kid this weekend, but we might get together on Sunday, he said.

But anyway, the third guy, the funny one with the pretty eyes, he tried to invite me to a movie last week… while I was out with my back. I told him I didn’t think it’d be a good idea since I’d missed work for my back. It would seem a bit strange to be out because of my back and then to go and sit in an uncomfortable movie theater with a stranger…

Well… I didn’t call him a stranger to his face, but that’s what he is.

Don’t get me wrong, he is funny, and I do like his eyes, but we hardly know anything about each other even after a week of texting.

strangerdanger1.jpg

So, we’ve tentatively agreed to go to a movie sometime next week. He’ll have to wait until after I get paid again. I know that technically, if he invites me I shouldn’t have to worry about it, but he’s currently job hunting, and I don’t want either of us to be in an uncomfortable place. Best to be prepared just in case.

Which I like to do anyway… doesn’t always work.

One of my guy friends just invited me to the movies for today and I’m too broke to help if things go sideways. Which they won’t because he is way more fiscally responsible than me.

But I hate being in a position where I can’t bail us out if it were necessary.

no more money

Anyway, Mr. Light Eyes (the third of my current Tinderfellas) is still around, and while he’s got his kid this weekend, he likes me enough to tentatively schedule for next week.

Then again, it could be just out of desperation. He said he was shocked to hear from me after he told me he was jobless at the moment. So maybe he doesn’t like me that much, but rather I’m his only option at the moment…

I understand why some would be put off with that, but then again, it’s not like he’s the only one going through some troubles at the moment. One of my dearest friends lost his job recently and is going through a massive change in his career pathway because of it.

That one I’m particularly proud of, though, because he found something he was passionate about from his old job and is making a whole new career that he’s excited about from it. You know how I feel about passion…

passion

Anyway, so, that’s Mr. Light Eyes still around, the guy I already know (need a nickname for him) as well, but the other guy down and out for the count. But, the universe seems to understand my three Tinderfella rule! Just as I was about to go hunting for some new Tinderfellas to take the place of the guy who ghosted, one of my old Tinderfellas came back!

In August, I started talking to a guy that kind of just fell off the face of the planet. I wasn’t that interested in him (there was only one post that even mentioned him), or rather, something about him made me not so comfortable because of his intensity in wanting to meet me, and now he’s back!

I’m not sure I’m comfortable with him, but he came back telling me he felt like we’d made a good connection and he was in a better place now.

My brain tells me that is some sort of code, but I don’t know what for. But, like before, when I told him I wasn’t 100% comfortable, he told me he’d just really like to meet me and we could go as fast or as slow as I needed… Even if that meant just friends or someone to vent to.

Mr. Accommodating…

doormat

So I’m balancing work and three Tinderfellas and still trying to find my own place to stay. And all while the year is dwindling down to a close… and in the middle of it is still the anxiety over a Trump presidency.

Oh things are moving so fast and changing so much! Here’s hoping 2017 is a better year!

13 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: Still busy!

    • Thank you. Yes, my sad little 55 degrees seems to be nice weather for everyone else… I’m bundled up in several layers and a blanket, sipping hot cocoa. I’m not made for cold weather… 😉 Thanks for reading!

  1. I hope you find a gorgeous real fella wrapped up underneath your Christmas tree. Hope your back feels better soon. My mum was recently hospitalised with severe pain from back spasms. It’s been awful for her. We knew she was really sick when she let us take her photo in hospital. She usually refuses.
    Take care and all the best with the dating scene.
    xx Rowena

  2. The current temperature outside my front door is -6° Celsius (21°F), the air has a cold icy feel that isn’t from the falling snow or the fog. I think the temperature is somewhere between the cold and frigid rating so your 55 degrees Fahrenheit sounds lovely. Hope your back feels better. Great post, thanks for sharing.

  3. Shilpa Garg says:

    Wow! You have a lot on your plate!! It’s cold here too and I just had coffee while curled up in bed. Isn’t that a lovely place to have hot coffee 🙂
    Have agreat week ahead, Elizabeth! Cheers 🙂

    • I’m definitely practicing my balancing skills at the moment, that’s for sure! And coffee in bed is very lovely! Truth be told, it’s tea, actually. I’m not much of a coffee drinker… :/

Leave a Reply

