Election 2016: Is it over yet?

This election has me under a considerable amount of stress. Neither candidate is particularly pleasant, and while there are other candidates available, I’m not sure they’re up to par for the presidency, much to my chagrin. I’ve watched people I respect make horrible statements supporting their candidate, and have been on numerous occasions tempted to defriend people that I would have said were much too smart to make the statements they were making.

I’ve heard horrible things about Hillary’s personality from a variety of sources, some of which I trust. The majority of which has been some variation that she’s horrible to her staff and feels like she is owed the presidency… In fact one person even said that she commented that Bill promised it to her!

Sounds very much like Claire Underwood from House of Cards, to me…

claire_underwood_house_of_cards

On the other hand, Trump is evil. If not truly evil, he’s at least a very terrible person!

Fact checkers say he’s been caught in lies 75% of the time or more, and not just little lies… big, huge, honking lies! He flip flops so much that it is unbelievable to me that anyone would make the claim that he is the candidate who “tells it like it is…” He gets caught in lies, and he’s not sneaky enough not to get caught doing shady business deals. This is why he’s got so many law suits hanging over his head.

He’s like a crappy version of Frank Underwood from House of Cards.

houseofcards_013113_1600-1024x384.jpg

Don’t even get me started on the racist and sexist things he’s said…

So, yeah, this presidency has two obviously bad characters competing against each other. Though, admittedly one is quite a bit worse than the other.

But it’s going to have record voting numbers, too.

Why? Because people want the horrible person they support to win in order to justify liking that person, I think.

cthulhu

It put me in a bit of a quandary. See, I liked Gary Johnson from the start. Before even reading what he’d said about his platform, I looked into what he’d accomplished as governor, and I was thoroughly impressed with his record. I felt he had the most relevant experience to fix what was wrong with this country domestically, and, as a Libertarian, he would work on domestic problems first, which we desperately need!

And then he opened his mouth… Interview after interview he’s stuck his foot in his mouth. Possibly even literally. It wouldn’t have been the strangest thing he’d done in an interview.

I had fully planned to vote for him. No question. Because I live in Texas, which has been solidly Republican (whichever color that is) for 50 years or more… with the exception of the brief period of the Ann Richards’ Governorship when I was a child. So me voting for a third party would have made a statement, small thought it may have been. I would have been able to exercise my right to vote while still not condoning either of the evil candidates.

And then, Texas woke up to just how bad a Trump presidency would be, and suddenly Texas was a Swing State. It wasn’t a give-in that it would vote Republican and suddenly I was faced with having to vote for the lesser evil in order to help keep the greater evil from winning.

It was quite an upsetting predicament for me, but not a terrible place to be. It gave me hope that Trump wouldn’t win. I still like to think that America isn’t so stupid as to vote for him, but then really intelligent people whom I respect want to vote for him purely because of his stance on abortion (though there’s evidence that he would pay for an abortion in a heartbeat, and possibly has, making him a big ol’ hypocrite).

Either that, or they aren’t comfortable admitting they’re racists. But whatever.

In the end, I did my duty and voted my conscience, and I hope you’ll do the same!

voted.jpg

Then I got to have a little fun because someone on Twitter decided to try to troll me, but then I pointed out how dumb he was by trying to judge me based on how I look.

He apologized after I corrected him about calling me a feminist. In fact, he called me “smart” for not being a feminist.

Let me clarify (before I’m crucified for deserting my sex), I believe in the goals initially set out by feminism, but I think it’s gotten quite derailed, and there are several posts on here where I’ve already gone into all that. I especially think third wave feminism has screwed up the dating world with it’s misandrist ways.

But that didn’t quite come up in our conversation…

It is, however, an example of just how much hate this election cycle has produced in this country, and I think it’s changed the metaphorical landscape of our country for a while to come.

I can’t wait for it to be over!

2 thoughts on “Election 2016: Is it over yet?

    • You can if you want, but it was slightly fun telling him he was wrong until he apologized for trolling. Plus I told him he shouldn’t judge people because based on his comments I’d say he was an outdated misogynist. He didn’t respond to that.

Leave a Reply

