#ICYMI: Where does your Inspiration come from?

Last night we had an awesome #JustAddTea Twitter Chat! Our topic was Inspiration, and we had a great turn out! Hopefully it will help me to overcome some of my own Writer’s block.

Well, that and getting on a regular schedule. If you couldn’t make it to the chat last night, here are the questions and my answers. Please add your own answers in the comments below, or Tweet them to me using the hashtag: #JustAddTea!

inspirationintro1.jpg

We always begin with an ice breaker of sorts. Last night, it was to share your favorite inspirational quote. Mine’s from one of my favorite authors: Ayn Rand. It’s not exactly the traditional inspirational quote, but for me it reminds me to be strong and not doubt myself:

whos_going_to_stop_me_tn-343499

Next up, it’s hard to find inspiration if you’re not sure what your passion is. What is it that you’re passionate about?

inspirationq1

For me, I’m passionate about stories, in all sorts of formats. On this blog, I share my personal story with the hopes it will help others (that’s the other thing I’m passionate about), but in my creative life, I’m passionate about telling stories through writing. Sometimes it’s fiction, and sometimes it’s poetry, which to me is a mini story of a feeling/emotion.

It’s all great to have a passion and all, but what do you do with it? That’s question 2:

inspirationq2

Like I said, I share stories through my writing. My fiction is the hardest for me, because the characters make up their own stories sometimes, and I get lost in their stories. That’s the reason I play Sims, because I enjoy watching my Sims stories unfold. It’s all about the story…

So what inspires you?

inspirationq3

I’m inspired by the events of my own life, or the lives of people I know. The best stories are based in some reality, even if it’s just an archetypal story that everyone can recognize. In fact, those are the best! Though I do love how the gender roles are finally being updated to match our new universal experiences.

Even if your inspiration is something as simple (or rather as complex, but readily available) as life, sometimes we still get stuck. How do you overcome obstacles in your passion? Like writer’s block?

inspirationq4

This is one of the reasons I chose this week’s topic. I’ve been struck by writer’s block for a while now. I usually use one of the #MissMuseMe prompts or a NaNoWriMo style word sprint to get the juices flowing again. Just writing something usually helps me get back on the proverbial horse again, but it hasn’t worked so much of late… though I did get a half decent poem out the other day, and that inspiration came from the Pirate.

That is one obstacle I’ve overcome, but the next question asks for something bigger: What is the biggest obstacle you’ve ever overcome in your journey to achieve your dream?

inspirationq5

For me, it was the fear of actually submitting. Through publishing stuff on various places online, I realized that I did have talent, thanks to the feedback and support I received. Thus, I overcame my fear of submissions and now I have two poems in print in an anthology! You can actually buy the book by clicking here, if you’re interested, though my poems are ones you can actually find on this blog, hopefully the next ones will be wholly original. Or maybe I’ll actually get this book finished and get it published.

I know, I’m dreaming a little big…

Now that we’ve talked about the what and the how, what about who? Who is it that inspires you?

inspirationq6

That one’s pretty easy, my mother is one of my biggest inspirations. She never seems to give up, and I don’t know how she manages to still be a good person after all the crap that’s been handed her direction from the universe. I wish pretty much every day to have her strength and that the Gods will grant her a reprieve from her struggles. She deserves a break, and hopefully soon she’ll have one.

That pretty much covered both questions 6 and 7. Question 7 asks why that person is my inspiration:

inspirationq7

The last question is to offer advice to others seeking inspiration:

inspirationq8

And my only advice would be this: Never give up. The best things require some work to achieve them, and if whatever you’re passionate about is really worth it, you’ll enjoy the challenge as much (if not more so) than the reward!

So good luck! If you’re just now seeing these, please share your answers, some or all of them, with us in the comments below, or on Twitter.

And I hope you’ll join us next week when we discuss Summer Romances in honor of Midsummer, which happens to be coming up this Monday!!

romancepromo.jpg

2 thoughts on “#ICYMI: Where does your Inspiration come from?

Leave a Reply

