#ICYMI: Let’s plan a Summer Vacation!

First of all, thank you to everyone who made it to the #JustAddTea party last night! I definitely feel like I missed out by not being able to be there with you wonderful ladies and gentlemen, but Kristen did an awesome job hosting for me! I may have to get her to help out more often!

Meanwhile, the date with the Pirate went better than I expected.

But I’ll write a separate post about that. This post is only for recapping the questions from last night. I’ll be leaving my answers here, since I didn’t get to participate last night…

So, without further ado, let us begin with the introductions:

summerintro1

I prefer to take vacations, but I usually can only afford Staycations.

summerq1

The whole reason why I chose this topic is because I don’t have plans yet for this year. I am hoping to take a trip, I just don’t know when or where…

summerq2

Definitely the cell phone, and a portable charger! Actually, I take that back, I can live without my phone, but not without my laptop. I can do most of the same stuff, but it also has my Sims, which is what I usually do on a Staycation. I order take out (or room service) and play Sims while lounging around in the gazillion thread count sheets wearing nothing!

summerq3

I went on a whim to Kansas City. It definitely had some ups and downs, but it was special because it was the first time I’d done something like that on my own. I had some really eye opening experiences that summer, and would love to do more random traveling!

summerq4

My worst experience (because the whole trip wasn’t this bad, just part of it) was on a cruise with my Mom and her friends and my aunt. Things didn’t go as planned because financially I was more broke than I’d planned, and my mother’s friends kept making decisions that cost more, and then making my mom and I feel guilty because we couldn’t do what they wanted to. Meanwhile, it had been meant to be a mother/daughter trip, and instead, my mother was catering to her friends. Like when I told my mother I did not want to go snorkeling because I only brought a single pair of contacts with me and I’d lost my glasses somewhere, and because her friends wanted to go, she spent the extra money to get me prescription goggles, which made me feel like I was in a fish bowl, and made me feel trapped…

The whole trip kind of leaves a bad taste in my mouth, but we did have some fun.

summerq5

I think a lack of communication with the other people you’re going with will ruin a vacation. Just like the situation with my mother and her friends. She listened to them and not me, and I ended up being angry at her for a longish while. And we didn’t want to see the same things, or go on the same excursions, and my mother almost always went with what they wanted to do. She told me later it was because they always had fun in the past when she’d gone without me… So, yeah, something that was supposed to be special for us ended up me being the thing that ruined her trip with her friends.

summerq6

I would go to Ireland to go climbing the cliffs, and find the map to my island (if my dream is indeed true). I’d want to see some of the castles, sure, but mostly I want to experience the local culture, and seriously, I want to go climb some cliffs. Right now, I think I’d bring the pirate. He’s got enough of a sense of adventure that I’d feel certain that we’d have fun, and he would push me to actually do what I said I wanted to do, instead of chickening out and just sitting in a pub drinking all day, or something.

summerq7

As much as I love Doctor Who, there’s not a world on there that I would want to visit, not even Gallifrey before the Time War (that was an answer I saw from last night, and I had to seriously consider changing my answer). I’d like to go to Middle Earth, in the golden time before the war he writes about in the Lord of the Rings. I don’t want to go back before the first War, because I think there might be too much magic in that incarnation of the world, and after LotR, the elves left, but between the two wars would be nice.

summerstop

And that finishes it out. You’re more than welcome to answer the questions in the comments below, or Tweet them out, just don’t forget the hashtag: #JustAddTea, or no one will see them…

Thanks again to Kristen Thibodeaux for hosting while I was staying at home with the Pirate (we didn’t get to see the movie, and I totally forgot to take pictures of dinner, but it was good), and join us next time when we talk about Inspiration!!

inspirationpromo.jpg

Leave a Reply

