Tonight on #JustAddTea: Friendship!

This one’s going to be short. I’m trying to grade papers so I won’t be stuck at the school until time for our #JustAddTea chat to start tonight. It’s not going so well, but I’m getting there.

Tonight, we’re going to talk about friendship. It’a thing acutely on my mind of late for a couple of reasons, and if you haven’t figured it out by now, I kind of choose the weekly topics based on things that I actually need some advice on. Or, things that seem fun.

This week has a lot of things going on in my life that have left me emotionally bouncing between feeling super lonely and feeling super loved. That pendulum on top of just trying to get everything done for the end of the year has me feeling super stressed and permanently exhausted! This teacher is tired…

tumblr_mh4wyjQW1l1rsd9coo1_500.gif

Yesterday was my birthday, and it was kind of a rough one. I turned 35, and my life has been completely out of whack. Had to move the past weekend. Didn’t plan anything to celebrate. The Pirate canceled our date on Tuesday (tomorrow’s date is in question as well). And I kind of feel like the people I know IRL forgot that it was my birthday.

Not my kids. My students (at least the first period class) brought me food and sang to me.

The Pirate texted me, which I wasn’t expecting, so that was nice, but then we haven’t really set up our rescheduled day for hanging out, and there’s been little communication since. Have I scared him off? Or have we both been just busy? Don’t know.

My Dad also texted, which I didn’t expect.

The point is that it didn’t feel like a real birthday. No cake (unless we count the donut holes my kiddos gave me), no presents (except a small gift of cash from my Grandmother), no special dinner…

And since things in my life have been less than stable lately, it was a very lonely day. Seeing as 35 feels like something of a milestone birthday (ending in 5 and all) it felt… very not great.

Pretty sure there was a good hour of me crying about how I’m going to die alone because my life has been so out of whack that it seems like there’s no one stable in my life. Other than my mother.

orsonwelles.jpg

I know it’s not true, and to prove it, I did have a handful of phone calls from friends, after the crying happened. Plus, loads of birthday wishes on social media! Mostly from people that I used to know or that only know me online. I actually got a ton of love from my #Spoofchat crew, and expect a nice group of new chatters tonight because of it. (Thanks to my #spoofchat peeps, for that, by the way!)

So, the question (though not intentionally planned to go this way) is now asked: what makes someone a true friend?

Is friendship based on length of time known? Is it based on the amount of time spent together? Or shared experiences? Is it based on some mystical connection?

How do you define friendship? How do you make new friends? And how do you make acquaintances into  long term friends?

tonightfriendspromo

Join us tonight as we talk about what makes friendship work!

2 thoughts on “Tonight on #JustAddTea: Friendship!

  1. I missed this and would have been curious to see what others have to say about the subject matter.

    First, HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY 🙂

    My son and I were talking about this the other day as he realized after finishing his first year of college that he can count the number of true friends he has on both hands. The rest are just acquaintances where there is an element of friendship but it’s not deep and there is nothing wrong with that. I think this surprised him.

    I define friendship as a person who betters me by being in my life and vice versa. There is also an element of honesty and trust and of giving and taking. Seems simple enough but after being surround by people for many years, I can count my true friends on two hands. I honestly feel it has been that way my entire life and is not time based.

    • You can still find a bit of what our conversation was by scrolling through the Twitter feed on the left side of this page (if you’re viewing it on a PC, if you’re viewing on a smart phone or tablet, you’ll have to click the thing that looks like a gear just below the header). Anything with the #JustAddTea hashtag (from Twitter) gets archived there. Join us next week, though, when we talk about fairy tales, both the literal ones and the ones that are told in everyday life. We might come back to the friends thing with that, since one of the big fairy tales that often gets told is of mutual affection… What I love about the chats is how many different conversations get started because of them! Hope to see you next week! We do the chats every Thursday.

Leave a Reply

