Next time on #JustAddTea: What is a Writer?

Playing off of yesterday’s Writing Wednesday topic, we’re going to discuss what is a writer during tonight’s #JustAddTea virtual tea party. I’ve been thinking a lot about what is a writer and what is the difference between a writer and an author?authorwriter.png

Someone asked me why I had started doing these #JustAddTea Twitter tea parties, and it’s kind of a complicated answer. For one thing, I found myself with too much time on my hands for a short while, and I needed something to keep me busy so I didn’t go completely stir crazy. I was learning the ins and outs of Twitter and hosting a chat was the next step. I was trying out a variety of other social media as well, but Twitter is the one that seems to work the best for me.

I think it’s because it is the one that seems to be the most truly social and in real time. The rest are based on posting things that will be seen later, but the continuous flow of tweets appeals to our current ephemeral view of life in general while still immortalizing our individual lives in a way that we can review at a later date through our timeline.

56bf52cb399aa1bae3b6500680422060.jpg

The other reason I started doing Twitter Chats was because I was afraid that perhaps my job was what kept making me sick. If that was the case, then I was going to need to find an alternate source of income, and I thought I might find inspiration or even a job offer through some of my Twitter friends…

It was a thought.

Now, I’ve just found that the Twitter chats are one of the things I most look forward to on Thursday nights! I enjoy the different points of view, and I do get advice on a variety of topics.

This week, I hope to gather some information about other people’s process. I tend to find myself struggling to finish the stories that I start, and maybe there’s some good advice to be gleaned in tonight’s chat.

writer.jpg

Among the topics I’ve got slated for tonight’s discussion:

  • How to cope with writer’s block?
  • Where do you get your inspiration?
  • Who’s your muse?
  • Planner or Pantser?
  • #AWriterIs…

Speaking of that last one, I tweeted the question “What is a writer?” along with the hashtag #AWriterIs yesterday, and I really liked this one:

There were a couple of other good ones, but Lloyd makes a really good point (even if he uses the wrong “you’re”). If you’re not putting your work out there, be it on a blog, or sharing with friends, or actually publishing it, you’re not a full fledged writer. Writing should be shared. Otherwise, you’re just a diarist.

I didn’t even know that was a thing…

So I hope to see you tonight at 8 pm Central Time (9 ET, 6 PT) to join us for our latest #JustAddTea virtual tea party.

writerpromo.jpg

 

3 thoughts on “Next time on #JustAddTea: What is a Writer?

  1. I really enjoyed reading this. Recently, I’ve been going through a hard time with my writing, and I decided I don’t want to share my work anymore. Due to your post, it really got me thinking.

Leave a Reply

