Merry May Day!!

Or Happy Beltane!

I hope it was a joyous day for you, with plenty of Morris dancing and jumping of the fire and wild passionate embraces to honor the joining of the sacred Male and Female this holiday! 

beltane-wedding.jpg

Somehow, I always am single on this holiday. The one pagan holiday devoted to not being single, and it seems I almost always am. Even when I’m not, I don’t always get to celebrate with my lover anyhow, so it’s somewhat pointless.

My body knows what day it is, though, and my mind races with wild thoughts. Today would have been a good day for writing romance novels or erotica.

Instead I played Sims. Though I did spend most of the day trying to get my Sims into healthy relationships, so that perhaps counts for something.

cuddling.jpg

Not my Sims, taken from Carl’s Guide.

Beltane is one of the Celtic Fire/Sun festivals. It’s the day when ranchers send their cattle out between two bonfires to bless/cleanse them and protect them using the fire (tane) of Bel (a sun god), and men and women jump the bonfire to cleanse themselves and bring luck and fertility. As such, it really should be celebrated the night before, and last night I did indeed observe some sort of cleansing.

Ok, that’s not entirely true. I saw a movie where some of the characters believe in racial cleansing, but that’s not the same thing. Though, as for nights spent with a friend go, it was a good night. Not a romantic sort, but a good night nonetheless.

I saw Green Room, and let me tell you, it is pretty good. By pretty good, I mean I would recommend it. I haven’t written a review of it yet, and I don’t think this post is the place to do such a thing, but it was a good movie, albeit a bloody one.

I’ve never seen Sir Patrick Stewart play such a despicable character, and to do it so calmly. Let me put it this way, he somehow managed the expressionless acting of Keanu Reeves or Kristen Stewart, but in a way that totally fit the character and wasn’t boring. I think it’s because we’re all aware of his ability to play a character with a lot of emotion and a wide variety of facial expressions and so him choosing to play this one rather calmly and coolly when the character could have been a stark raving lunatic made it much more effective and frightening.

It’s a gory film; I’m not going to lie. Not exactly in the spirit of the holiday…

But, as for a date movie, it has lots to discuss for the more cerebral sorts, and plenty of jump scares for one to protect his/her date when they get frightened for the type who are less inclined to converse.

I’ve decided I need to see it a second time before I give it a proper review. It made me think a (very) little of American History X, but more of Red StateAlmost as if you combined the two: the Neo-Nazism from the one, with the killing and attempting to survive from the other.

My surviving the film (as it is the type of film I wouldn’t normally watch) was a bit like a trial by fire for me, and I feel stronger for having seen it. That’s my story and I’m going to stick to it!

Plus, it was fun to see the new Chekhov go up against Captain Picard. It made my inner Geek happy… in a very disturbing way.

PicardvsChekhov.jpg

Today while my spiritual self is thinking about relationships, my physical self is just existing. Trying not to think too hard about anything, actually.

But it is a holiday, a Holy Day, and there are things that need to be addressed. So, I shall light a candle and say a blessing for love and light and protection. I shall strive to convince myself that the darkness is truly behind me, as the winter is now behind me. I will look forward and make plans for what will come, instead of worrying about what has past.

That is what today is for me.

May your Beltane be bright, and cheery, and full of love and passion and wonderful omens of your future!

tumblr_nno584Jxk71to0vxao1_1280.jpg

Leave a Reply

