Insurmountable Distance (Original Poem)

I feel your pain in your words
the words you throw at me from a distance
insurmountable.
I cannot reach you through the miles
and the years
between us.

A younger version of
yourself
remembers a time
we could have had
if only
we had known each other
at the same season of our lives.

You wear your years
like a cloak in summer
unnecessarily obvious,
and obviously out of place
amongst the youthful glow
of the summer sun
with its heat and lack of
respectable concern for
matters of seriousness.

You are in the summer of your mind
while aged well into the winter of your years.

And I have been hardened
into an early autumn
through the pain and the loss of the
leaves from my heart’s tree.

It bloomed too soon
bringing forth the fruit of love
for another
whose season was too short,
like the false spring
when Imbolc is bright and fair
and the groundhog sees his shadow.

Now it bears no fruit,
lies dormant
awaiting the first frost
when with the winter
I may find some comfort in the
arms of a lover,
one
who has known the ache
of a barren growing season,
where the drought of love
has destroyed the harvest so
that even the water pouring
forth from my eyes
cannot produce a single fruit.

Each passing day brings another glint of silver
in my hair
as I choose the winter,
I choose the cold,
the dead time,
my heart embracing the frost
to become naught more
but a lump of cold and ice.

This path I choose
places miles and years
further and further between us
and I feel the pain,
your pain,
but it cannot thaw my soul.

Your summer sun is no match for my wintry heart.

3 thoughts on “Insurmountable Distance (Original Poem)

  1. Beautifully written and filled with such emotion. It is obvious that writing is an advanced form of therapy for you. I hope you get the results from it that you are looking for.

    • Thank you, though I’m not sure it is always a form of therapy. This one was more about getting the point across that it just wasn’t going to happen, in a way that fit the metaphor, but also didn’t hurt anyone’s feelings… mostly.

Leave a Reply

