Changes coming…

In the next couple of weeks or so, you should start to notice some slight changes to things here at #JustAddTea. As I said this weekend, I’m realizing that I’m not 100% happy with my life, and I want to fix that.

This blog is one of the things that makes me very happy, and with the summer coming up, I can start to do some serious work with it to make it really want I think it can be.

Obviously, I’m not one of those people who can focus on just one thing. Though, in true Aspie fashion, I get fixated, there are a handful of interests that I sort of cycle through.

As in, while it would be nice for me to say this is just a relationship blog, or just a blog about creative writing, that’s never going to be a thing that I can do. There are several things that are very important to me, and in order to make this blog do what need it to do, I have to focus on all of them.

options.jpg

As such, I’m going to be doing a little bit of structure changing around here.

I may actually be going backwards a little bit, but I’m okay with this.

While we gave it a good go with the relationships, I ended up just telling all of my business on here. And while I do sometimes manage to give decent advice, the most popular posts are the ones that are actually either the creative ones or the movie reviews.

But while it makes me happy to look at the numbers, I don’t think I’ll ever be able to just follow the numbers and tweak it to match what others want. This blog was designed to be a place for me to destress, a way for me to build a community of online friends, to have my little virtual sitting room and kvetch about things and hopefully help people along the way.

With the addition of the #JustAddTea TwitterChat, we’re getting there slowly but surely; I’m building relationships and making connections.

qtemplate.jpg

I’m seeing improvement in my writing, and if you’ve noticed, I’m also getting better with my graphics. Shout out to Fotor.com and Pixabay.com for being amazing helpers in that endeavor! Pixabay has tons of free images that I can then take over to Fotor and tweak as necessary. Plus, I also use my own images from time to time.

And I can still take them over to Fotor and tweak them as needed.

Speaking of my own images… I finally joined the Instagram world. I’m branching out as far as Social Media is concerned. I’m @lazymayse on both IG, and Pinterest.

I’m not quite ready for Snapchat, but I expect I’ll join those ranks soon enough. I need a better quality phone first. Or just an SD card. My cheap phone doesn’t have enough memory to add Snapchat on top of everything else at the moment.

The point is, I have embraced the digital age! I have tasted the forbidden fruit of the Tree of Social Media, and I am hooked!

digitaladameve.jpg

And, like I said the other day, I am finding that I am actually kind of good at this whole social media thing. So we’re going to talk a little here and there about what I’ve learned while on my journeys on the interwebs.

My goal is to set up some sort of schedule, so that I know what I’m posting on what days. The Aspie part of me loves this idea. The part of me that wants to be just a creative soul doing her own thing hates this plan.

But I think it will help me to stay focused.

You always read about finding a niche, and sticking to a writing schedule. Blah blah blah. Well, I have 4 very different niches that I seem to keep bouncing between. Really 3, but the 4th is my “real job,” until I decide to actually make a change… which may never happen.

Remember, I’ve wanted to be a teacher since I was about seven years old. It’s a pretty big part of who I am.

o-KIDS-PLAYING-TEACHER-facebook.jpg

So, we’re going to bring back teaching posts. At some point I’d created a separate blog for that, but I have since deleted it. I never wrote on it, instead adding it on here because this is the blog I enjoy writing on.

I haven’t quite figured out the rotation yet, but I’d like to include the following 4 types of posts: Marketing, Teaching, Dating/relationship advice, and Creative Writing.

After a lot of soul searching, I think this is the best way to incorporate all of my loves in a way that won’t overwhelm me and make me want to quit my day job. I enjoy teaching too much, and I am good at that as well! Just today I got a compliment from the Librarian because of the way I interacted with the students (in my ginormous ESL class with 35 students…), unlike some of the other teachers who left them alone to do their own thing.

I just need to be better organized in all aspects of my life, and I think this is a good starting place, since I do spend a LOT of time on this.

chaos-391652_1280.jpg

I will, however, be continuing my #100daysofpoemsbyLiz project as part of a #100daysproject through Instagram. I missed a day already, and need to do an extra poem to catch up… but one day, one crisis at a time.

And for sure Thursdays from here until forever (or until I have to give it up, whichever) will be dedicated to the #JustAddTea chat.

Reminder: this week’s chat is over Rejection. I’m most excited about hearing what others have to say about that dreadful “Ghosting” thing that people do. (Speaking of, I think the latest Tinderfella has finally given up and ghosted on me… he responds if I text first, but by the gods! am I tired of chasing men!)

rejection promo.jpg

Hope to see you on Twitter this Thursday. 8 pm CT, or 6 pm Pacific, or 9 pm EST.

Leave a Reply

