Sleep beckons (Original poem)

Sleep beckons to me
with candied whispers
of dreams so sweet,
Not of sugarplums or fairies
or kisses under the mistletoe,
Not in this Texan
near May heat.

Instead he tempts me
with visions of love,
loyal and true,
Not like the charlatans of old
hawking their fairytales and snake oils,
But something special,
sweet, and new.

Tired though I may feel,
Still a dream I know
it has to be,
For men no longer wish for love,
preferring luscious and swaying hips
To intellect and
honesty.

And yet he beckons.
His gentle touch soothes
my weary mind,
Removing more than just my clothes,
Sleep delivers me of all my doubt
So I may leave the
day behind.

3 thoughts on “Sleep beckons (Original poem)

  1. Alex Micati says:

    That sound you may or may not hear is me applauding this poem that I read. I got to admit the rhymes were lacking but the imagery was there and that was a sight to see. I liked the flow, as a whole, and for obvious reasons, I especially liked the “For men no longer wish for love, preferring luscious and swaying hips To intellect and honesty” section of the poem. It’s true that we often focus on a person’s exterior but overlook what she has inside. I mean, a car is only as good as the engine it carries, right?

    In short, I loved it!

Leave a Reply

