Introducing…

Tonight will be our first ever Twitter Chat, and in honor of it, we’re going to be talking all about introductions. Of course, we’ll be introducing ourselves to the group, but we’ll also be discussing how to introduce ourselves in relationship type situations.

And what better introduction for a burgeoning romance than the Meet Cute?

101dalmeetcute

The romance I’m talking about is, of course, my love for my fellow #JustAddTea chatters.

Yeah, I know, meeting on a Twitter chat doesn’t actually constitute the definition of the Meet Cute, but who knows; maybe something will blossom during our virtual tea party this evening. I’ve invited several friends both online and offline to join me for the #JustAddTea party, and if it continues, maybe years from now I can tell my children how I met their father as part of this wonderful social media thing where we opened up about ourselves and really talked…

What? It could happen…

eyeroll2

So what is a Meet Cute?

It’s when two characters that are destined to be together meet in an awkward, yet adorable, way. Like the above image of the human lovers in 101 Dalmatians, who are wrapped up in each other (quite literally) thanks to their four legged companions who are also quite in love. Or when in Stardust the hero accidentally thinks about the star instead of his mother, and thus the magic candle has him land on her (if you don’t know what I’m talking about, you have to see that movie).

Meet-Cute

You see them in almost every romantic comedy, and (in the ones I like the best) it makes the lovers a little bit angry with one another.

I like the tension filled Meet Cute, where the future lovers have to battle their dislike and their attraction. The internal conflict caused by that is so juicy! I like him, but I shouldn’t. It teeters on the edge of being a forbidden love, and makes it all so much sweeter when the two lovebirds finally do actually get together.

AE28TVOSTROW.JPG

A TO Z — “Pilot” — Pictured: (l-r) Ben Feldman as Andrew Lofland, Cristin Milioti as Zelda Vasco — Here’s the very definition of the “meet cute.” (Photo by: Trae Patton/NBC)

Like in that image from A to Z, a television series that I didn’t see and which no longer exists, but that picture is, as the caption says, the very definition of the “meet cute.” There you have two people in an unrelated conversation, and the girl’s dog eats some of the guy’s food! Since I never saw the show, I don’t know how it was resolved, but it could have gone a number of different ways.

The sweet meet cute would be if he was initially angry, but then made eye contact and immediately forgave her, and after some awkward discussion of making it up to one another, he asks her out on a date. Later in the story, some sort of fight would happen, a betrayal of some sort, and they have the big break-up that they must overcome to be together forever. Which, of course, they will overcome, because it’s a RomCom and there must be a happy ending of some sort.

Meanwhile, the tension filled meet cute, that I prefer, would have them very angry at each other. Maybe he called her dog a mutt while she was busy apologizing, and, because she loves her dog, this offends her. Then they would probably keep running into each other in equally as disruptive ways until one of their chance encounters forces them to actually spend time together, which is when they realize they actually have more things in common than different.

Cue the fireworks.

rocket-461750_640.jpg

I had my own version of a meet cute once. A couple of them actually, but one in particular stands out. It was the guy before the Boy, one that never really went anywhere, much to my chagrin, but who looked like the Boy enough to make me think it was a sign that the Boy was right for me. Live and learn right?

You’ll have to come to the Twitter Chat tonight (Thursday) to find out more about it.

The chat starts at 8 pm CT, which is 9 pm ET and 6 pm PT. Look for the hashtag #JustAddTea, and I’ll be posting little pictures that  look a little something like this:

chatpromo.jpg

In the meantime, check out this YouTube show: Match Not Found. It calls itself a “Skype romcom,” and it covers a great deal of the same issues we talk about on here. And no, they’re not paying me. I just really like how closely it matches how things go on here, generally. Kat and I could compare dating stories, and I think we’d both feel better. We could probably start a support group or something!

This episode gives us a really great example of a Meet Cute, but you really should go back to the beginning and watch Kat and her friends as she deals with her breakup with Johnny and her subsequent “romance recovery.” Be sure to like and subscribe when you check them out.

For more examples of the Meet Cute, check out this list from Harper’s Bazaar.

Can’t wait to see you at the chat tonight! Be sure to bring a pick up line, good or bad, or both, and your own meet cute story.

See you tonight, at 8 pm on Twitter! #JustAddTea

4 thoughts on “Introducing…

Leave a Reply

