Forest of Possibilities (Original Poem)

The wind wanders through the trees
like waves crashing upon the shore
of my heart.

Mingled amongst the
whispering branches,
I hear the songs of
better times
clinging to the chirp
of winged heralds
who do not see me,
nor know for whom their
tweeting
melodious
messages are meant.

“This path leads to
a sense of belonging,”
come the chirps of
a cluster of sparrows,
gliding in formation
high above the topmost branches,
an arrow pointing the way
to friendship, family,
a sense of familiarity.

But belonging doesn’t pay the bills,
friends can be fickle,
and family will love you
anywhere.

“This path leads to
jovial explorations,”
whistles the finch
in a flit of yellow
as he flutters by,
bouncing and flouncing through the air
bringing promises of fun
down an overgrown path
where he
whirls and twirls
through the brambles.

Fun though it may be
for some,
there is no stability,
no settling down,
no firm future down that route.

“This path leads to
glorious treasures aplenty,”
chatters the magpie
perched firmly in her
nest made up of shiny things:
bottle caps and tin gum wrappers
discarded by the many
travelers who
traversed the path beyond her
shimmery solitude.

But many have chosen that path
only to end up alone
and fearful
of losing what they
strove so hard to obtain.

“Choose the creative path,”
pecks the woodpecker,
hammering away,
carving a masterpiece
as he hunts for his
supper.

“Go back to the beginning,”
whistles the robin
bobbing along its merry way,
just as content to go
backwards
as forwards.

“Follow the passionate path,”
cries the pheasant
wooing both me and
his mate.

A cacophony of
chirps and whistles
and tweets and caws
and clucks and hoots
and shrieks and warbles and trills,
all with suggestions of which path to take
and all suddenly awed into silence
by the screech of a falcon,
predatory
and yet majestic:

“Make your own path.”

And thus the music of my heart
flows back unto
the waves of the wind among the trees,
and I follow where it calls to me.

5 thoughts on “Forest of Possibilities (Original Poem)

    • Thank you! I’m doing a 100 day project. A poem a day. Want to give me a topic to write about? This one was inspired just by the suggestion to write about a forest.

    • That one may take me a bit. I struggle with happy poems, but I’ll have it to you within a week. Are you on Twitter? I’ll tag you when I post it. Add me @ellamays

Leave a Reply

