Bring your teacups!

I’ve been thinking for a while…admittedly a short while, but it’s been a while nonetheless…about hosting a Twitter Chat.

For those of you who don’t know, a Twitter Chat is basically like an old fashioned chat room, except on Twitter. I’m already involved in several of them, and it’s kind of addicting. I do the #BlogElevated chat on Mondays for advice about blogging. Tuesdays is #TipsyChat, hosted by a really neat blogger over at Tipsywriter.com and covers a variety of things. Then there’s #SpoofChat on Wednesdays, which is kind of crazy, and the #SocialRoadTrip on Sundays.

The #TipsyChat was the first one I got into, and it was purely by accident.

slip-up-709045_960_720.jpg

I wasn’t sure exactly how people were using Twitter for any kind of good! I was actively tweeting back and forth with people, and so I was growing a following, but nothing extreme. Then one day, a woman I knew (through Twitter anyway) tweeted something that caught my eye, and it had the hashtag: #TipsyChat. Then I quickly figured out how it worked, and I’ve been hooked ever since!

The following week, I joined in the chat purposely, and a gentleman from New York invited me to be a part of the #SpoofChat the following night. Now #SpoofChat isn’t for the faint of heart. It’s very irreverent. The whole premise of the chat is to make fun of some specific pop culture phenomenon, be it a person, or an event, or a show. The Wrestling one was hilarious!

And through my chats on just those 2 alone, I’ve made quite a few Twitter friends, both in my hometown of Houston and very far away, including the gentleman that I’m curious about engaging in a potential LDR.

woman-789146_640.jpg

From the #SpoofChat, I met people from Sunday night’s #SocialRoadTrip. There the conversation seems to be about how to use social media to your benefit (useful for marketing, since I’m trying to write a book… when I’m not marketing), but they also have an emphasis on actually meeting one another. I may join them tonight if someone posts where they’re going out, but I haven’t made up my mind yet…Money’s tight. I’ll be in the chat, though, no doubt!

The #BlogElevated one is kind of a strange situation. I’ve known about it for a long time, because it’s hosted or sponsored by a blogger here in Houston, but I’ve always managed to miss it, or perhaps I just didn’t think it was that big of a deal. I’ve only been to two of their chats, and it’s not as exciting as some of the others, but it does have useful information and is good for networking, which is really the point in several of them.

It seems that one chat will lead to another, and my followers just keep growing! I’m not saying that’s the only reason to do a TwitterChat, but if you’re someone who’s looking to increase your social networking footprint, TwitterChats are good for that… Just Saying.

So that leaves me with Thursday and Friday night totally open to have a virtual tea party to discuss love and life with my friends and followers. Of course, if Thursday is bad, I could double up on another night , if I started earlier than the 8 or 9 pm start time that some of them have. I just can’t do much later. My normal workday starts at 6:30ish…

tee-508114_640.jpg

Here’s what I’m thinking: Thursday nights at 8pm Central time, we grab our teacups and sit around our computers to discuss the same sort of things I talk about on here, primarily the relationship part of it, but that doesn’t have to mean romantic relationships alone. Just like if you’re not a hot tea drinker, no one said you couldn’t have iced tea, or even a Long Island Ice Tea! We’re figuring this out as we go, so there’s not a wrong answer… Right?

As much as I’d like to call it the Virtual Tea Party, that seems to be taken… Not to mention it might intrigue a bunch of political people that could crash our party. But technically #JustAddTea is NOT taken, so we’ll go with that. It should be easy to remember.

If you’re interested, let me know. Do you think the time is right? Or should I move it earlier or later to accommodate date night? I know in most places Thursday night is a key date night and, especially for the college age peeps, it’s the beginning of the weekend, though I don’t really understand why. I always had classes on Friday.

Anyway, please leave me a comment, letting me know what you think. Do you have a question that you would specifically include in the chat?

I’ll put a kettle on. Bring your favorite mug or tea cup, and we’ll brainstorm.

I’d like to start this Thursday, if at all possible, with an emphasis on Introductions. How do you introduce yourself to the hottie across the bar? How soon is too soon to make a move? That sort of thing…

A-Mad-Tea-Party-Alice-1

It should be absolutely mad fun! Hope to see you there! It will be on Twitter at 8pm Central Time.

4 thoughts on “Bring your teacups!

    • Come join us. I’ve decided I’m definitely doing a virtual tea party. This Thursday, on Twitter, at 8 pm Central time (9 ET), we’ll discuss introductions. Bring your best pick up line, or your worst; it’s going to be great!

Leave a Reply

