Interview with July Cumming

1) What makes erotica different from Romance?

Romance almost always has a happy ending. If it doesn’t, it should at the least, have a happy for now feeling by the time it ends. Romance stirs up the reader’s emotions, whereas erotica will stir up that as well as other things. There doesn’t have to be sex scenes in romance. It can be nonexistent, implied or it can get hot and heavy, but it isn’t necessary to move the plot forward.

Erotica, on the other hand, must have sex scenes in order to make it an erotica story. A well-written erotica will have character development and a plot, not just vivid sex scenes. Erotica should be arousing for the reader. It should make you tingle in all the right places and romance should give you that tingle in your heart.

flamingheart

2) Why is erotica important as a genre?

Because it sets the mind free to sexually go, where in reality, a person might never get a chance to go. It allows you to¬†explore the many kinks and niches out there for stimulation.¬†It can help you spice up your sex life¬†or help you understand certain lifestyles. It¬†can even scratch that itch when someone can’t or won’t scratch it for you. Whether it’s vanilla sex,¬†bondage, lesbian¬†or a doctor¬†scenario you crave, there’s¬†something for everyone.

3) Where do you get your inspiration?

I find inspiration from my readers. When I first started writing, I had no clue what I was doing but gave it a try anyway. The first person to read one of my stories told me how good I was and that I should pursue writing. I was so sure they were just being nice to me, you know, so I wouldn’t feel bad. I didn’t believe that I wrote something that stirred up the arousal of someone other than myself. Because of that person, I took a handful of writing courses to improve my writing skills. That’s when I got serious and started publishing on my own.

Reviews eventually trickled in, boosting my ego. A fan emailed me and gave me praise for my writing. They liked it so much that they¬†asked if I could write a specific hard to find kink for them. Not long after that, another person emailed me asking if they could blog their review of my work. I quickly looked up their previous reviews left on others work¬†and thought, “Here we go. This person is¬†brutally honest with reviews and isn’t afraid to be harsh with their feedback.”

I didn’t have a¬†chance to reply¬†before they sent me¬†a link to the review. I was positive I was about to hear the truth on how much my writing sucked. It would be enough for me not to try¬†writing anything ever again. I was pleasantly shocked when the person left me a 5-star review and said how beyond talented I was. After that, they bought¬†and left awesome reviews for every story¬†I had to offer.

It’s those readers that take the time to email me or leave a review that inspired to write the next story. Even if the review isn’t the greatest, it pushes me to write better the next time. I still don’t think I’m as good as people say, but it sure is motivating to hear it.

4) What is the format/formula of an erotic story? Or is there one?

I think erotica is one of the most challenging genres to write. Like any other story, there should be a build up, a climax and an ending. Not only do you have to have an engaging storyline but you also have to work up the tension in a shorter amount of time. Be descriptive with the foreplay and the sexual acts. If you’re wanting to arouse your reader, plain old in and out sex just isn’t going to cut it.

5) How do you create characters that readers can identify with? Or is that even necessary?

I think it’s extremely¬†necessary to have relatable characters. People want to escape when they read erotica. Reading about a character who is some way like them¬†can draw the reader into the fantasy. When I create a new character, I think of what part they will play in my story and then I give them¬†life. I step inside their mind, or maybe they step into mine and I go from there. We’ve all had that horrible boss, or that first crush or even had a bully. I draw a lot from my own personal experiences, then create the characters and the storyline to go with it.

6) What is the conflict that moves an erotic story along?

The conflict can stem from many things for erotica. Overcoming insecurities, abilities and moral dilemmas, the list could go on. Having a desire for someone that isn’t interested or has no clue. Someone afraid to try something new, even though they want to. It all makes great conflict for an erotica story.

 

lipsstraw

One thought on “Interview with July Cumming

Leave a Reply

