Happy VD… wait…

Valentine’s Day finally arrived. I hope everyone had a fantastic day full of love, be it romantic or platonic, and that it helped you to remember what a beautiful/handsome badass you truly are!

Even as commercial as the day has become, and even with the twisted dark history of the holiday, today is a day that is meant to spread love and romance… maybe a little lust…

2016-02-14 04.55.54

And hopefully all the positive energy from today will have a positive impact on the world. Gifts or no.

For my single ladies and gents, hopefully you were able to appreciate the day with friends and share love that way.

For me, It’s been a fantastic day! My morning started with a text from the Bartender. A single red rose. As good as the real thing? Maybe not, but when he’s working a double, and I’m spending a girls’ weekend with some friends from high school on the beach, it will more than definitely fit the bill!

And look at that sunrise!!!

2016-02-14 07.29.20-1

That was the view I woke up to this morning from our condo.

And after a morning of recuperating after a late night of catching up on old times (and trying to take a group selfie, sans selfie stick, on a ferry)…

2016-02-13 22.36.37.jpg

…we had a great breakfast at a pretty, little, popular cafe in Galveston: The Farley Girls Cafe.

2016-02-14 12.55.43

That’s  their 8th and Post Office, a pulled pork BBQ hash with a fried egg on top… not super healthy, but it was exactly what I was craving. My friend had some sort of mushroom and spinach grits with eggs on top. Again, probably not super healthy, but it was GOOD food, with great company!

We ended up having a very brief conversation with a couple of older ladies sitting next to us playing some sort of word game that looked a bit like hangman.

Platonic love was in the air!

And then we took the ferry again, to actually see the wildlife and the boats in the daytime, instead of a near midnight excursion where it was simply dark and cold…

2016-02-14 14.14.20

Seagulls are pretty smart to follow the boats. Kids (and obviously adults as well) love to feed the birds.

And cue Mary Poppins…

Yes, we did sing the song while we watched the birds fly and chase the bread from the people. They hovered, catching them in the air, and flew far out and dove in after a morsel thrown far from the boat.

It was fun to watch. Totally, low key and relaxing, and reminded me of Jonathan Livingstone Seagull.

That has always been one of my favorite stories. I always thought it was a children’s story because my mother read it to me as a child, but when I reread it some while back before I gave it to the Boy as a gift to share myself with him (the same way he did when he bought me his favorite book), I realize it is way too deep to be a children’s book, but I think it may have been an integral part in determining my character as a person.

Freedom, choice, no limitations… That is what Jonathon Livingstone Seagull has taught me.

seagull.jpg

And today (and some of yesterday) I shared that with my friends.

The rest of the day has been a bunch of Netflix and (nonsexual) Chilling, sharing each other’s shows and interests while we just relax and enjoy each other’s company.

We’ve discussed our situations with the men in our lives, as both of us have fledgling/potential relationships in our lives. Ones that for the first time (or at least for the first time in my life) feel real, solid, special. Men that actually treat us with respect, kindness, and (dare I say it?) love!

And not for one moment did I feel left out, or lonely, or depressed about being (pseudo)single.

freedom.jpg

So why am I sharing the minutiae of my Valentine’s Day/Girls’ Weekend with you?

Because hopefully it will illustrate that Valentine’s Day is about love, and not gifts. While my day was filled primarily with platonic love (I did have that romantic rose from the Bartender first thing, and some fairly romantic texting on and off through the day…), I still felt loved, and the positive energy that comes from that has left me feeling pretty damn badass!

I feel beautiful, even though I didn’t get dressed up. I feel happy, even though I didn’t go on a date. I feel loved, even though I didn’t get a gift. I feel pretty amazing!

Perception is important. And we get to choose how we perceive ourselves, our situations, and our futures.

I hope everyone else’s day was filled with love and wonderful new memories! Spread the love… but in a safe, non VD spreading kind of way…

I hope you don’t mind, but I didn’t get you anything.

2016-02-14 04.56.25

2 thoughts on “Happy VD… wait…

Leave a Reply

