NaNoWriMo has begun!

This will be a short post, as I’ve already posted today, and I do have to work on lesson plans (since my team leader just posted them at 7pm on a Sunday… grumble, grumble). I just wanted to announce to the world that I am again doing NaNoWriMo, and as my story has completely morphed into something new, I might, just might share it.

9685960 big air bubbles blue backgroundI grabbed a title from an adoption board on the Nano website, but I like it! And it inspired me to write about a mythical being I haven’t worked with before, though I’ve read about them in some urban fantasy before. I thought I’d try my hand at the coming of age story for a Siren…

Or that was the plan, as far as I could tell. I’ve decided to pants it this year. As in write by the seat of my pants. I sat down last night at midnight with a book title and one character name, and a rough idea of what the main idea was.

pantser

Don’t let anyone ever tell you that your surroundings don’t affect your writing!

Last night, just before I began writing my tale of the coming of age of a young siren female (and with some idea that perhaps sirens grow into Harpies… thought it might make for a nice twist, and am not convinced I won’t still do that…), I received a slightly naughty text from Mr. Nice Guy… And what should have been a tale of magic and myth turned into a smut piece to rival some of the smut that the Boy occasionally writes.

He’s good at writing smut… Really good at it! For someone who seems to have the emotional range of an amoeba, he deftly manages to illicit multiple layers of feeling in his writing.

I’m jealous. Very jealous.

But last night, after a few naughty texts, I was in the zone for writing a Romance novel.

ariel smut

Fast forward to today, where I was arguing with the Boy for most of the day (we’re back to the friendzone again, save your lectures…), and my story has taken a drastic turn. I just swapped the feelings between the two genders. Instead of the girl holding on, it’s the guy.

So right off the bat, within the first 5 pages, we have sex and conflict, unrequited love, and I left some siren elements in there. Like it’s very possible that she accidentally called him to her because she was singing and then *poof* he was there.

I’m mildly optimistic, to be honest.

And oh! I was the first (well the first one who hadn’t already won something) to reach my daily word count! By 2 this morning, I’d already written my 1667+ words. As a reward, I won the Writer’s Emergency Pack of cards. I had planned on buying some anyway. Had thought about getting some for the Boy as well, but nope. He’s on his own.

WritersEmerg_H

Happy writing everyone! I’m off to go work on lesson plans now… Yippee…

7 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo has begun!

  1. I still don’t think I have enough energy to completely commit to a novel, but I’m going to try to write SOMETHING every day this month. How did NaNoWriMo go for you last year?

    • I didn’t finish last year. 😦 But I seriously think that’s because I was trying to be a planner/plotter instead of a pantser. I kept trying to edit because I knew where I WANTED the story to go, and sometimes the inspiration was trying to FORCE me in a new direction, and I couldn’t let go enough to go where the story wanted to go. This year, I’m just going with the flow, and so far so good. We’ll see if I can keep it up… If you sign up, we’ll have to be writing buddies.

      • I am definitely a planner! I think I would have to spend all of the next year planning just to participate in next year’s NaNoWriMo. Do you have to write a novel to sign up?

      • No. The goal is to write a novel, but I don’t think it’s mandatory or anything. A friend of mine is writing a collection of notes and messages for his son.

Leave a Reply

