July 2015 Recap

For those of you who get your news of my life from on here, I owe you a huge apology! For the month of July I started out strong and then just disappeared. 

poof

I assure you this wasn’t intentional. I started several posts for my 30 day challenge, and never quite got them finished. I was working my summer job and kept running out of time to do much of anything else. I was losing weight like crazy because I was suddenly active! In a way I haven’t been in a while. I was losing weight even though the majority of my calories were coming from McDonald’s food.

And then tragedy struck…

One morning I was trying to take my dog, my adorable little Pepper, out to go potty, when I fell down the stairs. While at my parents’ house, I usually don’t walk him. They have a doggie door; a necessity when you have 8 indoor dogs. But this day, Pepper didn’t want to go out without me. He had been leery of letting me out of his sight the whole time since I’d come home.

Can’t say I blame him too much. I did leave him here for like 8 months. And this isn’t the first time I’ve left him for an extended period of time. After his sister got eaten, I told my mother to find him a home because I couldn’t go through losing a dog like that again. The people she gave him to gave him back after he ate their chickens. He is a vicious hunter!

ViciousDog

So I went, without glasses, and without the porch light on (so I wouldn’t wake up my mother whose room is right next to the front porch, and down the stairs I went.

I missed the bottom 2.

And then fell off the sidewalk and into the grass… and probably into dog poop as well.

Luckily my dad heard me and came to my rescue. But the damage was done. I’d heard the pop, and the ankle immediately swelled up to 3 or 4 times it’s normal size. I knew it wasn’t broken because I was able to hobble to the bathroom, and if you can put any weight on it at all, that means it’s not broken… in theory.

So the Emergency Room doctor gave me a prescription for pain meds, an air brace, and a pair of crutches. Then 5 days later, my dad’s orthopedist gave me a boot and a refill of pain meds with a follow up appointment 2 weeks later.

The rest of the month has been me sleeping through most of my days because the pain meds knock me out, but the boot has made things worse instead of better, and without anything I can’t walk for extended periods of time.

When I’m not sleeping, I’m working on where I’m going to stay when I go back to Houston, and trying to get a full time teaching position instead of just subbing. Not much has come of that yet, but I’ll keep working on it.

And I’ve been chatting with the Boy. He’s offshore, though he’ll be back on land soon. Like today probably. It’s been ups and downs with him, as usual, but I feel like each down brings a new lesson that we both learn so we don’t repeat mistakes. I feel like we’re almost at a point where we understand each other.

Of course, I always think we’re making progress, and then 75% of the time, the very next argument he’ll tell me that there’s been no progress. Then one or the other of us will say this isn’t worth it, and this is the last time.

Then there’s the baring of souls for a minute.

Or rather, me baring my soul, and him responding to what I’ve said.

He’s not comfortable sharing personal things like I am, so I try not to push. I would feel more comfortable if he could share with me, but this latest fight we agreed that we’re both still holding on to some of the bad energy from before, and so neither of us trusts the other the way we should.

Thus, neither of us is really giving the other what they need to be comfortable. Part of that’s because we need the exact opposite thing to feel comfortable. I need full disclosure, and he needs space. Yeah, we have issues…

He says we just have to go slow in order to build that back up. Slow is hard for me. Especially when I already know him. I want to just go back to the last good point, like a save point in a game, and continue forward from there.

save_point

But life isn’t a game. Sorry to break it to you, Scott Pilgrim (and fans)…

So, slowly forward we go, starting over again. Feels like this is about the 5th evolution of our relationship. I feel fairly confident that this time we’re going to get it right. I just can’t shake the feeling that he’s supposed to be in my life for some reason.

We’ll see what happens.

So, that’s what I’ve been up to: sleeping a lot, chatting with the Boy, working on job stuff, and not much else. Hopefully I’ll be able to get back into the swing of things soon. I hate being laid up like this.

I also have had a request for a movie review of Ant Man, but I haven’t seen it yet. I haven’t seen any movies since I went to Jurassic World over a month ago. Maybe today, after Mom gets off work, I can remedy that. I would like to see Ant Man. While I don’t have super high hopes for it (it’s not one I was particularly excited to see), there has been some interesting media love for this movie. Like this pic that was on my Facebook feed.

antman

But thank you for still showing me some love while I was MIA. Even though I wasn’t writing much, I still was getting plenty of hits for the month of July. Thank you! You sure know how to make a girl feel special!

Here are the top viewed posts and the top viewing countries of July 2015:

5

Top 5 posts of July:

1) Prejudice Run Amok
2) Why Jurassic World might just be a great date movie.
3) Inside Out: More than just Herman’s Head for kids
4) The Beauty of a Klingon Female
5) Official November Recap

Top 3 countries that read my blog:

1) USA
2) Germany
3) France

2 thoughts on “July 2015 Recap

    • That’s impressive! Alright, I’m convinced. I’ll take my mom either tonight or tomorrow, depending on what time she gets off work. Thanks for the extra push!

Leave a Reply

