JWC Day 9: Words of Wisdom

I love it when things fall into place. Yesterday, while talking about how I struggle with my emotions, I ended the post with the only words of wisdom I care about right now: Live in the Moment.

live-in-the-moment

Worrying about what is past won’t change what’s happened, and worrying about what might come won’t change what will happen. All you can control are your actions in the here and now. If something from the past is eating at me, I can acknowledge it, and even see if there’s a lesson to be learned from it, but if I can’t do anything to change it, I’m going to stop worrying about it. Acknowledge it, and then let it go.

Obviously, it’s still a work in progress, or else I wouldn’t talk about Mr. West Coast or Superman or any of the other weird men that were in my life the last couple of years, but I don’t dwell like I used to. For instance, those guys only come up if something about their situation (a lesson, or a similarity perhaps) is relevant to what I’m thinking about, writing about, or talking about. I acknowledge whatever it is, and then I move on.

Or I try to.

As for the future. I have a plan, it’s not fool proof, and I’m working on not worrying about making it fool proof. There are millions of variables that I cannot control, and while it is in my nature to try to be prepared for all of them, it doesn’t help my frame of mind. When planning for the future, I think about what I want to happen, acknowledge the steps to get there, and then take the steps to get going in that direction.

That’s the plan, anyway.

Right now, I’m seriously just living in the moment. I know what I want for next school year, but I keep having dreams about actually teaching, though I haven’t taken the steps to make that a reality. I’m just working my summer job, and working on my relationships, and I’ll firm up my plans once I’m a little more settled and sure of myself.

Just living in the moment, enjoying the here and now.

And that’s good enough for the time being.

cookie monster

One thought on “JWC Day 9: Words of Wisdom

Leave a Reply

