Day 25: Favorite Blogs/Websites

Today on our 30 Day Journey, we’re going to look at the other sites and blogs that look at. I recently nominated several blogs for the Liebster Award, but those were all specifically blogs that were new or had a set number of followers. The ones we’ll be looking at today are a wee bit more developed than those. I spend a lot of time online, more than I’d care to admit to, but there are some sites/blogs that I pay more attention to than others. Some for work, and some because of they inspire me, and some just because they’re fun.

Here in no particular order, are my top 5 blogs/websites I visit:

Jessica Lawlor: Get Gutsy

letgoShe’s the inspiration for and host of the Get Gutsy contest that I’ve entered last year and the year before. She tells stories that inspire you to get out of your comfort zone, but also she offers advice on a variety of things, including blogging, which I like. Jessica posts a list of links to other sites that can help you on your journey to Get Gutsy and achieve your dreams. She calls it “Start Your Week off Right,” and the different links found there can be about anything, but always inspirational or helpful to achieving some dream. I love the optimism and truth of her blog, and her new Get Gutsy course looks amazing. I missed this latest entry into it, but hopefully will be able to get in on the next group this fall.

Rebelle Society

A group of women writers, or at least writers tackling women’s subjects, that bring out the wild woman in me. The idea behind the site is to help you find yourself, to rebel against all the things that try to trap you into conformity and get away from your true self. Or as they say in their about page, “Wherever you are on the Map Back to You, we’d like to add our mojo to your salsa.”

Similar to the Jessica Lawlor site I listed above, this one is full of advice and inspiration to become an active member of your own life. Whereas Jessica Lawlor feels a little more peaceful on your search to Get Gutsy, this one is something of the opposite: refusing to become complacent, or being active. It’s done in the spirit of rebellion!

And the empire is YOU!

And the empire is YOU!

International Geek Girl Pen Pal Club

Remember when you were young (before the internet became a big deal), and you did a pen pal exchange in the third grade, or thereabouts? This is the grown up version of that. You sign up, they pair you up with a pen pal somewhere else on the globe, based on whatever your geekdom is at the moment, and you exchange letters and gifts and things. They also do fun crafts and writing projects and things.

My Halloween story this past year? Yeah, it was an Iggle project. The heart I made for Superman? That was another one. I’m technically in the book club, although I haven’t been able to participate as much as I’d like, or at all…that whole couch surfing thing I’m doing at the moment keeps me from a lot of things. I tried to sign up for a pen pal a few months ago, and was even matched, but then I didn’t have an address, and I still technically don’t. It’s one of the things I want to do when I get my own apartment. In the meantime, I have done some of the crafts and things and plan to do some in the future. Not sure I’ll do March’s challenge: painting something green, or making a cake that’s not made of food.

But I might, all in the name of an Iggle adventure!

iggppc-manifesto

Byrdseed

It’s a site for sharing teaching projects specifically for Gifted and Talented (honors) students. The projects are always very creative and since the same basic principles are used in teaching English Language Learners, I can use the lessons no matter what my students are labeled. In fact, it is because of sites like these that I realized that the best way to truly teach was the creative way. By letting kids figure things out on their own, like they do for GT kids and ELL’s, it activates those higher order thinking skills that all these stupid standardized tests are supposed to be measuring.

There’s science/research to back it up, but I’ll always prefer an exploratory method of learning to the rote method of memorization. It works for grammar, by giving them examples and letting the students categorize the words into the various parts of speech. Then you can take it to the next level with phrases and clauses and such. The close reading that you learn in English class is exactly the same thing: exploring the deeper levels of a text.

Byrdseed was the first site I looked at to learn how to teach that exploration.

Houston On the Cheap

This site is pretty self explanatory. It helps you figure out how to live and have fun in the awesome city of Houston, TX on the cheap. It has lists of free activities and sales and contests all for cheap or free. I like to look around on here for a good deal. Plus, given my recent between jobs, houses, and everything status, it’s been very helpful.

hotc-logo

I’ve even been able to come up with an occasional good date idea, although for some reason, I have a hard time getting guys to go to free museum events with me. The Artist went with me one time, and we made out in a dark corner of the museum, a couple of times. Of course, that very day was the day I met the Architect and the cause of the subsequent bad date.

Had the Artist decided that he wanted to date instead of just play, I probably wouldn’t have gone on that bad date, but that bad date led to an interesting conversation with Superman about architects in general and how I apparently have a habit of destroying them… Superman was the third architect I’ve dated since moving to Houston.

Maybe I do have a type… Creative, busy, convinced of their own importance…

My website choices are obviously a bit more varied, but that comes from the different aspects of my own personality. I guess while I’m willing to go to multiple sources for information, when it comes to boys, I want one that has all the things I’m looking for in one place.

Maybe that’s part of my problem. Who knows?

2 thoughts on “Day 25: Favorite Blogs/Websites

  1. Thank you SO much for including me here! That description of my blog made my day 🙂 I also hope you will consider doing the course in the fall. It would be so much fun to work with you! xox

    • I really would love to be a part of it, I just couldn’t make it happen at the moment. And you are most welcome! You’re doing good things on your site, and I’ll help to spread your positive message in any way I can. Keep up the awesomeness!

Leave a Reply

