Day 24: Best Physical Features

Again with the bragging? This one at least is easy. When looking at myself for things I like, purely on the outside, anyway, there are two distinct areas that I really like, although, I’m fairly certain they’re not the two that jump to anyone else’s mind.

Because I’m quite top heavy, I get complimented on my chest a lot, but I don’t think my boobs are my best feature. For one thing, due to size alone and the fact that they are all natural, they aren’t as perky as those of my smaller chested friends. Let’s just say I’ve never been one of those girls who could go without a bra. Even my swimsuits have underwires in them.

I also get complimented on my hair a bit. It’s curly and thick, and right now, with the cut I’ve got and the hair products I use, it tends to (all on it’s own) curl itself into perfect Shirley Temple ringlets that bob up just above my shoulders. I like the cut, and I like the bounce, but oh how I would love to be able to just wake up and run a comb through my hair and go like my mother can; she has that perfectly straight hair that requires almost no effort to look perfect. We’d use to go to get our hair done together when I was younger. She’d go for a perm, and me for a relaxer. Within a week, her’s would be straight again, and mine would be wavy, not quite curly. Women are never happy with their hair…

me1

So, no my boobs and my hair are not my two favorites, although those are the two that I think get noticed the most.

The two features I love about myself are my legs, which are long and strong and I have been complimented on them by people who get to see them a bit more up close and personal, and my lips which are heart shaped, full, but not too full, and very soft.

Coincidentally (or maybe not), they are both attributes that my mother has pointed out are very nice on me. She tells me she’d kill to have lips the shape of mine, and she’s always commented on how I’m “all leg.”

2015-01-17 09.36.16

A) I’m wearing no makeup here, so don’t judge. B) Notice where my hand is, that’s my hip… See why my mom says I’m all leg?

The leg thing, admittedly makes it difficult to go shopping sometimes. I already have an issue because my bra size requires me to go shopping in the fat girl section of the store, while my waist size is more average.

Or, let me be PC: I have to buy tops in the “Women’s Section,” or the “Plus-Size Section…” I’ve never understood why “Women’s” is the politically correct way to say that. So becoming a “woman” makes you fat? Or is it because the clothes aren’t as trendy as in the “Ladies’ Section?” It’s only been the last 5 years or so that I have really seen a movement to make the outfits in the plus size section as nice looking as for our slighter counterparts.

And as a woman who’s main reason for shopping in that section is not because of my weight (although I am overweight, I can admit that) but because of my breast size, it makes shopping a rather unpleasant experience. It’s not like I can find something in the normal sizes and then find the exact same thing in plus size and just tailor it down. The arm holes in the plus size section are too big for me. If I buy something sleeveless, or with a cute little cap sleeve, my bra ends up showing.

There seems to be a misconception that being overweight means you have thick tree stumps for arms. While I don’t find my arms to be as shapely as my legs, and they could definitely use some toning (as could all of my body), I hate the hours it takes to dredge through my designated section, only to find something that I cannot wear because, while cute and big enough to fit over my boobs, I could fit my head through the armhole and thus everything can be seen. I’m not going for “most tasteful sideboob” award or anything like that. In fact, my friends who have played Cards Against Humanity with me have heard my view on that: There is no such thing as tasteful sideboob!

tastefulsideboob

mossimoBut I digress. Today is about recognizing the awesomeness that is my legs and my lips. As I was saying, I already struggle to find tops that work for me (don’t even get me started on dresses), but then I have to shop for bottoms in the Tall Section, which invariably is cut different. My legs are just a little too short to actually qualify as tall legs. I’m only 5’7″ after all. But because I have a short waist and am mostly legs, they are too long to wear the normal cut anything. The only brand of jeans I’ve been able to find that really work for me is the Mossimo brand that you can get at Target. I buy them in Tall, and I will wear them until they fall apart.

I just found out skinny jeans aren’t in fashion this season, and may be fading out entirely for a while. I’m going to have to restock my jeans with the next paycheck. This makes me a wee bit sad. I like my legs, and the Skinny Jean craze allowed me to show them off. Now I’ll have to go back to skirts in order to show off the shapeliness of my calf muscles and my one delicate ankle (the other is forever ruined, I think, from all the falls I take).

I see a trip to the beach in my future so I can get some sun on my legs. I tan easily…when the sun is out. Here’s hoping for a nice day sometime this week, while on Spring Break!

duckfaceLet’s not forget about my lips, though. I like their shape, and I have been complimented on their softness by a few of my ex paramours. One in particular comes to mind. He had a cute little button nose, and the first time we kissed, he told me that my lips were soft, and how nice that was. It was the fall, if memory serves, and I assume he’d encountered some chapped lips before our lips met. I never thought to ask him to elaborate. He wasn’t one of the ones who stuck around for very long, although I did get a text from him about a year ago wanting to talk. Since I live so far away, there was no point in trying to begin something anew.

Plus, my lips are what makes my smile so pretty, and I’ve gotten compliments on that as well. I guess I’m not a total troglodyte. Some people apparently find me attractive, and I do like certain parts of myself. In fact, today’s post, as much as I was dreading it, has made me feel pretty good about myself.

Let’s chock that up to a Win for today.

Leave a Reply

