I’d Like to Thank the Academy…

Oh wait, that’s the wrong award…

I want to thank my friend over at Recklessy Discreet for nominating me for the much coveted Liebster Award. I have to admit, I had to look it up… As you’ll see below, I didn’t start this blog to actually be recognized for anything, but I want to thank him for following along, commenting, and now for this award!

I definitely think you should check out his blog. His view on relationships is always fascinating, and I applaud him for his openness about his sexuality! He’s a bisexual man, which, correct me if I’m wrong, seems to be the most misunderstood category, even more so than the Trans members of the LGBTQ community. So kudos! for being brave and honest and putting it all out there for the world to see… discreetly, of course.

And thank you again for nominating me for this award! I will do my best to live up to your praise and recommendation, and I will follow the rules and pass the love forward.

The purpose of the Liebster Award is to recognize up-and-coming new bloggers, bring exposure to them, and encourage networking between us

The Rules

  1. Link the person who nominated you to your blog post. Thank them and let them know you answered their questions. 2. Answer the 7 questions given to you by the nominator. 3. Nominate 5-11 other bloggers with a following of less than 500. 4. Create 7 questions for your nominees to answer. 5. Let the nominees know that they have been nominated by going to their blog and notifying them. 6. Display the award on your blog — by including it in your post and/or displaying it using a “widget” or a “gadget”.

So here are the questions he asked, and I’ll do my best to answer them fully, without dragging it out too much.

1) Why do you write your blog?

I started this blog as just a way to vent about my life as a teacher who was trying to make a life in a small town, but as I moved and my life changed, I found that it was much better used to discuss and reflect on my relationships. I’m over 30 and not married, and would really like to be in a healthy relationship before I hit 35… Thus, this blog is designed to help me work out my own issues and help people in similar situations along the way.

we-all-have-issuesFEATURE

2) What is your top three greatest accomplishments in life?

I hate bragging, so this is hard for me to answer, but if I keep it factual, it becomes really easy:

  • Graduating College
  • Getting my teaching license
  • Starting this blog, in spite of the doubts I had about telling so much about myself online.

3) Who was your childhood idol? Who is it now?

Growing up, it was my mother. She is a remarkably strong woman who manages to keep the family together even when we all seem to hate each other. She is a nurturer, a caregiver, a teacher, and was unbelievably tough on me, helping me to be the strong woman I am today.

2014-09-01 14.43.44

Now, I think I’ve quit looking to others for inspiration. I’ve decided that my goals and dreams are so much a combination of other people’s dreams and aspirations that it’s best to not try to look up to one specific person. I am unlike anyone (just as we all are unique individuals), and thus only I can be my own inspiration.

4) What is your favorite quote and why?

whos_going_to_stop_me_tn-343499

That’s my favorite quote because I make my own fate, albeit with some signs and information from destiny every now and then. I’ve talked about this before, as part of my #30DayChallenge: Day 12: Favorite Quote.

5) Are there specific topics or ideas you simply will not discuss on WordPress? Why is that?

While I talk around the sex stuff, I would never ever put specifics to my intimate life online. For one thing, I am a teacher, and that seems like it would be in violation of some part of the implied morality clause in my contract. Second of all, while I definitely have no problem kissing and telling, it’s not fair to the other people involved. I don’t mind reading about my own adventures, but what about if the other person is shy?

Or (as is actually the case with one of the gentlemen I’ve discussed on here) what if they don’t *ahem* measure up? No one wants to hear about how bad they are at anything, and there’s definitely even more of a sense of shame if you’re not good at that. So, I’m sorry to say, if you’ve been waiting for intimate details, you’re going to be left wanting.

girl-shhh

6) What is your favorite thing to do?

I like to talk. I particularly like to debate things with intelligent people. If that means going to the movies and discussing the movie later, so be it. Or if it means just having a few drinks while we discuss someone’s personal theory, even better. I just like talking to people.

7) Do you hope to impact people who read your blog?  Why or why not?

Yes. I think that sharing our experiences is part of what makes us grow as a community and as a people. I’m a teacher because I want to help people. While my blog is primarily to help myself, if I help a few others along the way, that’s even better. Plus, sometimes I actually have good advice…

And now to pass it forward…

Here are the people I’d like to nominate to receive this lovely award. I don’t know how many followers they have, so if they have more than the 500 this award recommends as the top number, I’m not sure how to deal with that, but they’ve intrigued me enough that I’m willing to give them love anyway. Number 6 is the wonderful lady who introduced me to blogging.

  1. This is 30?
  2. Ellen Nguyen
  3. Live ClareLesley
  4. My Advice for Your Life
  5. HenryWest
  6. Small Wonders and Other Thoughts

Finally: Their Questions

This wouldn’t be complete without a list of questions for my nominees to answer, so here goes nothing. I stole a few and added some of my own.

  1. Why did you start blogging?
  2. What is your favorite blog post that you’ve written so far?
  3. What do you do when you’re not blogging?
  4. How do you come up with your blog ideas?
  5. Who inspired you most in your life?
  6. Do you have a set place/time/routine when you blog?
  7. Do you hope to impact people who read your blog?  Why or why not?
6 thoughts on “I’d Like to Thank the Academy…

  1. Hi thank you for the lovely nomination! It’s such a pleasure! I will of course accept it and pass it forward but I think you forgot to make a list of questions for your nominees to answer 😛 Look forward!

    Ellen x

  2. disconcerted72 says:

    Wow! Thank you so much for doing this, it makes me happy! 🙂
    I am so amazed at how well moms really can keep families together; on some level it just seems like moms are so underappreciated and your mention of yours makes me think I need to call my own mother! 😛

    • I don’t always give her the props she deserves, but she’s my mom and I love her, and I wouldn’t be who I am without her.

      Thanks for asking a question that allowed me to honor her! And thanks again for the award thing. I think this is fun!

Leave a Reply

