Day 21: Top Ten Songs

While compiling this list, I thought about trying to do a top ten countdown, but I don’t feel that would be fair. A lot of these songs are favorites for specific moods or situations, and therefor it seems really unfair to try to pick one that is a favorite all the way around. It’s probably a Gemini thing…

Favorite Love Song 

While I am a big fan of the theatre and plays and things, I really don’t much care of musicals. Opera, I can handle all day long, but musicals… I have a list of about 14 that I actually really enjoy. Hedwig and the Angry Inch is pretty much at the top of the list. And this song is definitely one of the reasons why. It’s a great way to explain the Split Apart theory that Plato used to describe the idea of the Soul Mate.

Plus if I did have an all-time favorite, this one might very well be it. When this one comes on while I’m driving, I always sing along, loud and proud.

Favorite Song for Unrequited Love

This one is relatively new for me, but given the current theme of me always being second choice, it’s been helping me deal with the fact that sometimes my feelings don’t listen to my logic. Especially because every now and then the lines between me and the object of my affection get blurred. This is the song I want to share with all my friends who tell me not to get hurt… As one of my book club girls says: “The heart wants what the heart wants.” This song explains that pretty well.

Favorite Break Up Song

Happiest break-up song ever. Instead of wallowing in self-loathing and sadness when everything falls apart, this is an upbeat song about being free! It’s gotten me through a number of sad moments when I wanted to wallow in the depths of despair over a boy.

Favorite NSFW Song

*Warning: The song alone isn’t safe for work; the video isn’t any safer… 

I think I first heard this song (Drive, by Melissa Ferrick) on The L Word, and just listening to it turns me on… and everyone else in the room. When it’s hunting season in Lizland (which it is about to be), this is what I listen to as I’m getting ready. If I can writhe to this song in my outfit and still feel sexy, I know I’m ready to go.

Favorite Date Night Song

This is one of those gems that the Boy introduced me to. It’s a little out there, but it’s definitely a type of love song, but has a good feel to it that is fun, friendly, and pretty casual actually, so it helps to fill me with light, fun energy, and removes the stress of the date. I usually listen to it in the shower as I’m preparing for a date, not actually the date itself.

Favorite Get Ready for Work Song

I know, I know, this has nothing to do with getting ready to be a teacher, but it wakes me up and puts a smile on my face while I’m in the shower getting ready for work. I don’t even listen to the words. It’s just the beat that makes me smile.

Favorite Song for my Morning Commute

It has that “get down to business” feel that I need for my morning commute. The morning commute is kind of like going into battle: you have to be focused, hyperaware, and aggressive or you’ll never get there on time. Nearly 3 years of Houston driving has taught me this. This is my battle song.

Favorite Song for the Afternoon Commute

While the morning commute is like going into battle, the afternoon commute is more like returning home from a battle you thought you’d lose. As such, this song is my all time favorite for that commute. The vocals lift my soul up and make me smile from the inside out. The beat keeps me moving forward. This song says to me that no matter how bad I thought it was, it’s finally over and all I have to do is make it home.

Favorite Walking Song

This song is usually the one I save for my cool down after I go for a jog, or the last walk of the night with the dog. Click forward to about 1:02 to see why.

There’s just something about the laugh of a child that makes all your troubles go away.

Favorite Writing Song

There’s something about the soundtrack to Amelie that just gets the creative juices flowing. Maybe it’s because the music is as whimsical as the movie itself, or maybe it’s because the rhythm kind of plugs along like someone walking through a street in one of those stop motion animation videos. I can hear the sounds of the people she sees on the street and the melody changes with different weather and moods. The song creates a scene of its own that makes me just want to write it all down.

Bonus: Favorite Music Video

When I mentioned the stop motion thing for the last one, it made me immediately think of this video. I love the way it’s done, and the song is also one I enjoy.

I hope you enjoy my picks. As I was going through the list, I kept thinking of other songs I’d like to add, so we may have to revisit this topic sometime down the road. For now, these are my ten (plus one) favorite songs. If you have a song that you think I would just absolutely find amazing, please post a link to it in the comments below; I love finding new songs and artists to listen to!

2 thoughts on “Day 21: Top Ten Songs

Leave a Reply

