Day 19: The Future…

Today for my #30DayChallenge post, we’ll be looking at where I expect/want to be 10 years from now. This is another one of those difficult ones for me. I am, as I have said before, a planner, but I also, as I have also said before, believe in fate or destiny. As such, I am aware that any and all plans are subject to massive changes at the slightest hint of a sign that I may be on the wrong path.

Having said that, there are three things I know for certain for my 10 year plan:

1) I will be married.

wedding-02

I’m closer to 35 than I am to 30, I believe in love (or else why write a blog about relationships and romance?), and I am attempting to actively seek love. I want to settle down and find the person I want to spend the rest of my life with. If you haven’t gotten that from the last couple of days of “I want a movie style romance,” then you haven’t been paying attention.

2) I will have a child or children.

babies-570x378

Ten years from now, I’ll be over 40. I want kids, and I’m running out of available years in which to have them. While I’m not in a rush to have them like post-haste-immediately-need-to-be-pregnant-now, I am aware that I’m running out of time to have healthy children. I don’t mind being the old mom, but I do mind having multiple miscarriages or having kiddos with birth defects just because I waited too long. Plus, I have names for 3 kids picked out, two girls and a boy. I don’t know if I’ll have three children, but I am prepared for three.

It has something to do with being adopted. I don’t look, act, or think like my family, so I want to feel like I belong. I want to have someone who I’m genetically linked to. Maybe that’s selfish, or maybe that’s just part of the human condition, but I want to have children.

Besides, I’m kind of a genius, and it would be a shame to deny the world my genetic material. (Still working on upping that self-esteem…)

3) I will have my Master’s or PhD.

amazon_phd_costumeThere are two programs that float around in my head as things I need to complete. One is a year long Master’s program in Ireland studying classical cultures. The other is 4 or 5 year Master’s/PhD program about archetypes in world religions. Both are totally because I want to study those things and not because of any useful skills I could obtain from them.

Although, with the higher level degrees, I could teach at the college level, and that is something I used to dream of doing.

The PhD program is one I’ve discussed on here before because it is the more realistic, in my opinion. While more expensive, and a longer goal, I think it is more conducive to my lifestyle, as it is primarily online. The Ireland thing, while I would love it, has it’s own complications, most notably getting the necessary Visas. Ireland has reputation for being exceptionally picky about giving those out.

And that pretty much covers it. All the other things are dependent on destiny/fate and the circumstances of my life. I cannot speak to location or whether I’m renting or own my own home because those are both dependent on whom I marry. I don’t know if I’ll still be teaching or if I’ll have moved on to the college dream, or counseling, both of which are options I’d consider.

Heck, my mother might even convince me to go down the principal track like she did. Who knows?

All I know is I want those 3 things, and I will achieve them…eventually.

Leave a Reply

