Day 13: What’s in my purse?

As a teacher, I have a giant bag that I use to carry all the things I might possibly need for my job: pens, pencils, red pens, highlighters, papers to grade, etc. Once I actually forgot that I had a stapler in there for a week…

And then there’s my practical bag:

2015-03-07 13.12.08

It’s a little wristlet purse that I bought for the pre-date I had with Superman way back in October(?), when he didn’t notice that I got dressed up for him. It started out as just a date purse, and then became like a wallet, holding all the important stuff so when I need to just run a little errand, I can just grab that and go.

It doesn’t hold much…

2015-03-07 13.22.06

Right now, it’s got my ID, several discount cards or membership cards to stores I go to, my insurance stuff, you know, the basics, and a small handful of cash (all small bills…as in like ones or fives). There’s my pay stub and some receipts in there as well; things waiting to be sorted once I get back to sorting things…once I have a desk and my little file cabinet out of storage so I can sort things and become organized in my finances again.

My glittery lip gloss is in there too, for those moments when you need a little extra sparkle.

And the world’s smallest flashdrive, full of Doctor Who episodes for a date that never happened. This was part of the gift to Superman. I had planned an evening watching Doctor Who while in our jammies eating the cupcakes he bought for me, all wrapped up and comfy in the pillow fort we never got around to making on New Year’s. That’s my idea of the perfect date. Staying in, and doing something you love with someone you love. It’s what I really wanted for my Valentine’s Day. I’d put a lot of thought into it…

The thing I’m most proud of in my purse, though, is my checkbook.

2015-03-07 13.35.13

It’s currently just full of temporary checks, but it is the first time I’ve had a checkbook in ten years or more. The Boy told me “that sounds like progress,” and it really is. Since a month ago I was just trying to figure out what I had that I could sell so I could get my medications, having a checkbook again is a big step forward. I knew that I would get to a positive place, and having a checkbook in my purse (even if it is just temporary checks) is definitely a positive place to be.

Leave a Reply

