Day 12: Favorite Quote

Sometimes I get some flack from people who’ve known me for a long time because I’m an Ayn Rand fan. If you don’t know anything about her, she spawned the philosophy of Objectivism, one of the outlying tenets of Libertarianism and the Tea Party. These extremists follow her fiscal ideologies about small (or no) government involvement, particularly as it applies to business. With the Tea Party-ers, they somehow miss the mark on her anti-religious views.

These people are not true followers of her beliefs, so the people who look down on me for liking her work because these people also like her work don’t truly understand it.

My love for Ayn Rand is wrapped up in her characters. She writes heroes that are meant to be heroes.

clash_of_the_titans_poster02Unlike the recent bastardization of the Greek and Roman myths (the new Clash of the Titans immediately jumps to mind), she writes characters that are meant to be superhuman. While that new Clash of the Titans is all about relinquishing the very thing that makes Perseus a hero in favor of being just a normal, average guy, Rand’s characters refuse to limit themselves and accept the lowest common denominator. I can’t imagine Howard Roark telling anyone he isn’t a God! John Galt was known as the man who found the Island of Atlantis and the fountain of youth. He was a legend in his own right. They are true heroes in that they have achieved greatness!

I aspire to that level of greatness! I aspire to be more than a mere human, and I hope to instill that idea of perfection, and pride in one’s abilities to my students. Obviously, I have some self-esteem issues, but I’ve been working through them–mostly on here–but that doesn’t mean I don’t aspire to greatness. The whole reason I began this blog was to enhance my writing and to vent a bit about my work woes so that I could be better at my job.

Admittedly, I don’t think that my writing skills have gotten better, not grammatically speaking anyway, but I have developed my own voice. I feel like I have a distinct personality in my writing that may or may not have existed before.

And I write almost every day now, which is a vast improvement to before. Perhaps I may aspire to a Rand-ian level of greatness yet!

“The question isn’t who is going to let me; it’s who is going to stop me.” –Ayn Rand

This quote is a reminder that I CAN do all the things I aspire to do. It is empowering because I do make the decisions in my life, and I am strong enough to overcome the obstacles that have been put in my way.

I-know-I-can-do-it

Once upon a time, a friend told me I always land on my feet. She was right. Sometimes it takes a while, and sometimes it takes loads and loads of planning, but I do make it ahead somehow. Rand would say that it was my skill and work ethic that made it so. I believe it might actually just be luck (Rand is rolling over in her grave as I type this), but either way I win.

No one can stop me once I get started, and that is what that quote is truly all about: having the drive, the passion, the knowledge, skills, and willpower to be successful no matter what. We all know how important passion is to me; I’ve written tons about it. That passion is what my favorite quote embodies and glorifies.

Do I have the passion to be a success in my own life? I say yes, yes I do, and this is the year I’m going to prove it to everyone, including (and especially) myself!

2 thoughts on “Day 12: Favorite Quote

Leave a Reply

