Day 7: Favorite Foods

As a bit of a foodie, this is kind of a hard question for me. I have a lot of things I like and yet there are a ton of things I haven’t even tried yet.

It might be easier to list the things I don’t like. Haggis, for one. The first (and only) time I ate it, it actually put me in the hospital. My body reacted so violently to it, I threw up for 12 hours…

And Pho.

It looks so good! Too bad it smells so awful!

It looks so good! Too bad it smells so awful!

Star Anise is one of the key ingredients; it smells and tastes like black licorice. I hate black licorice. The Boy took me for Pho on our first date. I told him to order for me because I didn’t know anything about it. I think maybe he thought that he picked wrong for me, but he couldn’t know my aversion to licorice. And I didn’t know enough about Pho to warn him.

Superman told me that there’s a whole method to trying Pho for the first time. I had been willing to give it a second try…

I guess we can add that to the list of things that I won’t get to experience.

As for the things I like, I’m going to do my damnedest to pick a top five. To make the list, it has to be something that I feel would be hard for me to get tired of, so I’ve come up with a handful of questions to help me choose:

  • Can I eat this food more than two meals in a row and not feel guilty or disgusted by it?
  • Can I eat it as a meal by itself and feel satisfied?
  • Has there ever been a time when I turned this food down?

Watermelon

watermelonI’m going to start off simple. Watermelon is just a fruit, and I don’t add anything to it, but I can eat it, and only it, for days and never get tired of it. Seriously, I think I could eat one of those big watermelons every day for a month and never get tired of it. It’s good when paired with other fruits, too, but I really enjoy it all by itself. Even the smell when you cut into it makes my mouth water. It’s a subtle smell, but yes there is a smell. My father says I’m crazy, but there is definitely a smell.

Fried Potatoes

Still on the simple side, I like just about any type of fried potato: french fries, hash browns, actual fried potatoes with onions and garlic, you name it. This is something that I like my version better than most, even though I expect that any of the big name chefs would frown at me for it.

potatoes

I fry my potatoes with bacon, and cook the bacon just before frying so the pan is well seasoned with the bacon grease. Then I put the potatoes (skins on if I chopped them myself, otherwise I use the pre-cut Southern style potatoes you can buy in the freezer section) in the grease with some olive oil. I add onions and serrano peppers, finely chopped, and then about half way through I add finely chopped fresh garlic. I usually burn the garlic, but I like the flavor of the slightly charred garlic as it ends up on the potato, so long as I don’t actually get any pieces of the burnt garlic in my mouth.

I’ll have this for breakfast, lunch, and dinner when it gets close to payday and there’s not much in the house. I usually serve it (when just me) in a bowl lined with a paper towel or two, and then I sprinkle cheese on top while the potatoes are still hot so the cheese melts.

Breakfast tacos/burritos

tacoUsing the same basic recipe as the fried potatoes, I add egg and then sprinkle the cheese on after I’ve put a heaping spoonful of the whole cooked mixture on a tortilla. For breakfast tacos, I use flour tortillas to help soak up the grease. All other types of tacos I prefer corn tortillas, but I will eat the breakfast tacos for any meal. I’ll even eat them with sausage instead of the bacon, although only if I have to, or with no added meat at all. But they need the cheese.

And salsa. Even though I cook the potatoes with peppers, there is something about the texture of a nice fresh salsa, or a not so fresh picante sauce on a breakfast taco. It’s a necessity. I especially like the salsa verde that comes with the tacos from the taco stand near my old school. Unfortunately, I don’t know how to make it. That stuff is awesome!

Sushi

Speaking of things I can’t make on my own… I also might not have this one for breakfast, but as there are a million different varieties, and I have yet to have a sushi roll I didn’t like, it’s getting added to the list. It is both light and filling at the same time. I experienced sushi for the first time while totally landlocked in Rockwall, TX. My friend Vicky took me out for sushi, and I’ve been hooked ever since.

sushi

My mother thinks I’m crazy because there’s raw fish involved, but if it’s fresh, that doesn’t matter. Now that I’m so close to the ocean, you’d think I’d have it more often, but other than Valentine’s Day, when Superman and I happened upon a not so busy sushi place for dinner, I haven’t had it with any regularity. Sushi is an experience that I don’t often do on my own, although I have done so when the craving has hit before and I didn’t have anyone to go with me.

Tiramisu

tiramisu cheesecakeFor my last favorite, I am again choosing something that doesn’t quite fit my normal qualifications. Seriously, I don’t think I could eat Tiramisu for multiple meals in a row, but when I have an opportunity to eat it, I always take the opportunity! It is my favorite dessert, and I even had the Tiramisu Cheesecake from the Cheesecake Factory when the Boy took me out a few weeks back.

It’s a sensual dessert, that always seems to come up when I’m enjoying myself with a person. For example, I made it for my ex (the one who proposed on Valentine’s Day), when I made him a romantic New Year’s Eve dinner all those years ago. I made him a Parmesan crusted chicken breast with a salad with a homemade vinaigrette, fresh baked bread (from scratch), and homemade Tiramisu, served in martini glasses. He brought the wine.

tiramisuglass

I remember, I was wearing a long black skirt, and for some reason, after dinner, I sat at his feet. I think I had wanted to lay my head in his lap while we watched whatever it was we were watching that night. He had told me I shouldn’t kneel like that because I wasn’t below him. I should remember how strong I was, and there was no need to lower myself, especially not for any man.

Somewhere along the way I forgot that lesson.

But the memory of the tiramisu sticks with me. It’s a sensual dessert, best shared between lovers. It lends itself to the feeding with fingers and the oh so erotic licking and sucking of the fingertips. The flavor itself is enough to send me into mild spasms of joy.

padma

Yes, Tiramisu is my favorite dessert! And probably my favorite of all the foods, though I don’t have it as often…

What are some of your favorites? Leave them in the comments below. Later in the #30DayChallenge there will be a space for recipes, so if you have an amazing recipe you would like to share, please do! I love to try new foods, and maybe your recipe will replace my favorite comfort food recipe!

2 thoughts on “Day 7: Favorite Foods

Leave a Reply

