Day 1: Intro to me.

I’m afraid today’s entry for this 30 Day Challenge will be a repeat of a variety of previous posts I’ve done before. This blog somehow became a blog about relationships… but before that, it was a blog for me to discuss my life in general and the things that frustrated or confused me, so there are many previous posts that discuss who I am. Look for the ones tagged as “Just Me“.

But, to be fair, I’ll give you the brief rundown: I’m a 30-something year old high school teacher, who, as an adoptee, grew up in a household of a different ethnic makeup than my own. This has colored (no pun intended) the way I see the world, making me put more emphasis on what is inside a person than what is on the outside.

Which means I’m generally very open-minded.

Mixed Race and CompleteIf you’ve been following along with some of my stories about the men in my life, hopefully you’ll see that they span a variety of shapes, sizes, and colors. There was the black hipster (the Boy), and the gym fanatic Artist, and Superman was Hispanic and also the tallest man I’ve dated in a while. To steal a phrase from one of my best and oldest (as in length of time we’ve known each other and not actual age) friends: “I’m a one woman United Nations,” meaning I’ve dated people of all sorts of nationalities, ages, races, etc.

My qualifications for a lover/boyfriend/future partner are simple (or at least I think so). I want someone who is intelligent enough to challenge me intellectually, strong enough to put me in my place when I’m wrong, sweet enough to hold me when I’m sad, and who really really enjoys being intimate. I want an intellectual alpha male, which many guys I’ve dated have told me is an impossibility.

So maybe I’m a little… Unrealistic? Optimistic? Idealistic? Quixotic? Pick your adjective.

quixotic

I’m also creative. I dabble a bit in fashion, photography, painting, poetry, and fiction writing. I share some of those here on this blog, especially the poetry that sometimes comes from heartbreak or the occasional elation that occurs when my relationships go well… which has yet to happen since I’ve begun this blog.

Basically, I’m all over the place. I don’t want to get too involved with explaining myself, as that is what this whole 30 Day journey is meant to be about, but I will leave you with something that is a rarity on this blog: some pictures of myself. I try to steer clear of those, as this blog doesn’t mesh well with my professional life, but no introduction to the person who is me would be complete without some pictures. So enjoy:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Day 1: Intro to me.

Leave a Reply

