A New Year’s To Remember

In my last couple of posts, I hinted at how wonderful my New Year’s was, and I promised to fill you in on the details. So even though it means I’m posting more than usual, here is me making good on that promise. To be honest, though, I’m finding it a bit hard to find the words.

Not because it was bad; it most decidedly was not bad, but because there’s that tiny part of me that thinks it was just too good to be true and if I put it in print I’ll jinx the whole thing.

This story actually begins before New Year’s. I met this guy at an event some while ago (somewhere towards the conclusion of the first mess with the Artist). He was funny and cute and showed up with a superman shirt (complete with cape) under his dress shirt. I’d actually met him before, and he’d been cute, but I didn’t see enough of his personality to make a lasting impression. The night of the superman shirt, he definitely made an impression!

supermanundershirt

But there are all these rules in dating that put women at a disadvantage… At least that has been my experience. Whether it’s a southern thing, or just because I like dominant men, there is a fine line to be walked when I, as a female, try to express interest. Come on too strong, and I look overbearing or desperate, both of which tend to scare guys off. Don’t come on strong enough, and I get shoved into the friend zone so fast it makes my head spin.

Given that the only two guys to make the cut in the past year had both given me the line that they liked my brain, but weren’t interested in dating me (after we’d been dating, or at least had gone out on dates), my confidence was pretty shaken. So when I took a chance and invited this guy to a movie, but there was minimal conversation, I assumed there was no interest there on his part.

I had crossed him off my list of possibilities.

*Please note this is not an actual representation of my personal list.

When the Boy (yes, he’s back) suggested I just go ahead and ask about seeing a movie, I wasn’t really optimistic, but surprisingly, it turned into a couple of days of really fun conversation and a definitive date for New Year’s Day. The conversation was a good mix of flirty and intelligent, and involved getting to see a glimpse of who he was through the question game. In a very short time, a situation I had thought was hopeless became a possibility, and the conversations became something I looked forward to.

Woman Twirling Her Hair and DaydreamingSee, it’s problematic when I’m on break, like now, because I have too much time on my hands; those conversations were basically the only thing I had to look forward to in the days leading up to the holiday. I don’t do subtle very well, and apparently easing into things is not one of my strong suits… Even now, a few days later, I’m driving myself batty trying to determine if it’s possible (or even sane) to continue that level of communication (probably isn’t).

The point is, I got my hopes up.

On New Year’s Eve, I had plans to spend the evening with some friends. I knew the party would be great, and it was (plus my cookies were a hit), but I would be driving from 30 or so miles out of Houston on one-side to a good 15 miles out of town (sort of) on the other side, with the main part of the city and the drunks and the cops between.

Like a gentleman, this guy (who wants to be called the Starchitect, but I’m not sold on that nickname) offered to let me stay in the hotel room he’d rented for the evening as part of his New Year’s festivities. A room with two beds, so his intentions were actually quite honorable. It was a thoughtful gesture, much more thoughtful than any of the guys I’ve dated in the past.

twobed

Hell, it was more thoughtful than probably 65% of my guy friends, not including my gay friends (they always look out for me).

I did indeed stay in his hotel, and it was just as perfect an evening as I could have hoped. All the romance and fun I had hoped to have happened, and it was made sweeter because I had been harboring a little crush for a while.

We talked and cuddled and enjoyed each other’s company until the wee hours of the morning, until about 6 or so. Then he took me out for breakfast (at noon) to a place I had never been before, but that had some history behind it for him. Even after we’d finished our meal, and as exhausted as we were, we still talked for over an hour sitting in the parking lot while we revised our plans to see the movie later in the day.

Conversation test? Passed with flying colors!

PassStamp3

As for the movie, he offered to meet me at a theater closer to where I’m currently staying instead of making me drive all the way out to my house and back into the city. How thoughtful! And sweet!

We went to our respective domiciles, napped, and met back for the movie. During the movie (the third Hobbit movie, for anyone who’s interested), he held my hand, and it just felt…perfect.

In fact the whole outing was pretty perfect! The conversations were just so genuine, and for the most part smooth. I felt like I was probably the weak link in the conversation… this guy may actually be too smart for me! I don’t get to say that often, but with his three degrees (and discussion of going for a fourth), I did feel a wee bit out of my league. Especially when he started talking math and economics briefly. Don’t get me wrong, I got an A in Calculus, but that was over 10 years ago!

On the other hand, if that’s my only complaint, I better stop complaining!

Unlike the last date, where I was trapped into a kiss by a bad kisser, this guy set the butterflies in my tummy to flitting with every kiss. The way he would stroke my hand while we watched flaming-passionthe movie, the intensity of his gaze as we talked, the way he touched me when we kissed, all of it left me with that warm feeling of genuine desire. You know, that warm feeling that rises up from the very center of your being and threatens to set you on fire?

It was easily the best New Year’s I have ever had, and I can’t wait to see what comes next!

Now if I can just not get pushy because I really can’t wait to see what comes next…

8 thoughts on “A New Year’s To Remember

Leave a Reply

