Nature is the best anti-depressant.

Today was a rough day for me a bit. I’m the only daughter, and the oldest, yet it’s my significantly younger brothers who are both in fairly solid committed relationships. Now, anyone who knows me knows I do not NEED a man to feel whole. I’ve never been one of those girls, but at the same time, the holidays are rough for us single ladies.

I mean, seriously, have you seen the advertisements they show at this time of year?

christmasad

Come on! Why don’t you just tell me that I’m going to die a lonely spinster already! Jeesh!

I still have faith that my job situation is about to turn around, but in the love department… well, you can see for yourself how well that’s turning out.

Let’s just say there’s less faith in that area.

So when my brother and I went for a hike today, I wasn’t in the best of spirits… until I let go and just embraced the beauty around me. By the end of the hike, I was feeling much better!

And as if the wonders of nature weren’t enough, I got a text from one of the guys in my life to remind me that I wasn’t totally alone, even if I’m not in a serious relationship at the moment. That’s what I call a win-win situation: a fresh air and beauty high followed by a reminder that there are men-folk who care about me (and not just the ones to whom I’m related).

So for those of you feeling a little down this holiday, let me share the relaxation as best I can (be sure to actually click them and see all the beauty and wonder).

Better yet, find your own place in nature. Just walk around a park, or sit under a tree and actually look at it. Feel the bark, or notice the pattern the branches make when you look up at them. Check out the clouds. Something, anything involving nature will help to lift your spirits if you’re down.

And it’s okay to be a little down. Just don’t let the holiday doldrums kill the fire within you.

*Please note, the good pictures are ones my brother took. My skills are not that great… 

Leave a Reply

