Yule Tide Blessings.

Today is Yule, the Pagan/Wiccan/Celtic celebration of Midwinter. It is when the day is the shortest, just before the birth of the God in the form of the Sun. It is a time when the food has been stored from the previous harvest celebrations. It is a time to spend with family and count your blessings.

seesignsFor me, this Yule is a turning of the tide. I have symbolically put my crops away, having put out several job applications and creating a cornucopia of possibilities. The job I thought was a definite turned out to be not so definite, but that just means I haven’t been watching the signs as well as I should have.

I’m not sure that’s entirely true. I posted about not giving up for my #GetGutsy entry, and since then, I keep seeing things that reinforce that idea. In my post, I made a point that I wasn’t going to settle for less than what I deserved or wanted. I keep encountering things online about not giving up or settling, especially if you have a creative dream or goal.

One that particularly stands out was a post from someone who wasn’t entered in the #GetGutsy contest saying the same thing, with examples of people who continued even after an epic fail of some sort.

And a video about not giving up that popped up in my Facebook newsfeed that really spoke to me.

The signs were there… I just had to recognize them for what they were.

So what is it that I really want?

What I really want is to work from home.

And so I’ve begun taking steps to make that a reality. I have asked the universe to help me achieve that goal.

Among the many applications I’ve put out recently, I applied for a job that allows me to teach from home, even though I have not taken the necessary training to do so. My thought is that it may be possible to get the job, and do the training concurrently. Actual teaching certifications can be done that way, so why should teaching online be any different?

work from home

I’ve also put in applications for teaching at a few schools that I’m not sure I would actually want to stay at, but that would allow me to save up the money necessary to take the training so I could teach from home at a later time. I’ve also put in a few applications for jobs that are not teaching but still in the education field, just in case I’ve misread the signs completely and need to be working in a different vein of the education field.

I’m putting myself out there and allowing the possibilities to build up, metaphorically storing up for the bright new future ahead.

brightfuture

I’m also spending this Yule with my family, and I’m very glad I took the time to see them. I hadn’t realized how much I missed them and the open space of the country. I wouldn’t want to live in the country again, but it is nice to be around family and the fresh air. Before I left the Houston area, I walked on the beach with my mother, my younger brother and his girlfriend.

balconesThen, once I made it back home, I took a walk with the older of my two brothers. Technically, we were hunting, or “verminating” as he called it (jokingly), but it was really just a nice walk around the pasture enjoying the nature and the chill in the air…with a really big rifle. Tomorrow, my younger brother and I have plans to go hiking, so I hope it’s not too terribly cold.

Today is a new beginning for me. Just as the tide has turned in the heavens, so shall my luck change. I have faith in that. With the return of the sun, so shall my luck return. I am refinding myself and my path.

I can feel good things for the upcoming year.

May your Yule be bright and full of joy! May you find the light in the darkness and follow it to good things in the coming year!

yuleblessings

One thought on “Yule Tide Blessings.

  1. Good for you for putting your goals out there!

    I love that you’ve used the word ‘possibility’ so much in this post. I actually just determined that this is going to be one of my words for 2015, so I love seeing it elsewhere. Such an inspiring idea!

    Here’s to an amazing 2015! xoxox

Leave a Reply

