Passion is sexy.

So it’s a beautifully grey day! Actually, it’s rainy and yucky and just the slightest bit cold, but I’m hopped up on cold and flu medication, wrapped up in a fuzzy green blanket and watching a movie that has reminded me why the creative life is so great!

The movie is Begin Again, and I had missed the opportunity to watch an advanced preview of this film when it came out, and I am saddened that I didn’t get to see it on the big screen! The way Mark Ruffalo and Keira Knightley play off of each other and create characters who create beautiful, heartfelt music in an age when it’s all about the look instead of the song, just made me warm and bubbly on the inside!

Theoretically, it could be a fever and mucus that has caused this warm and fuzzy feeling, but I don’t think it is.

I think what makes me feel so overwhelmed with the feel-goods is the way they stick to their guns; they being the characters. They have a creative vision, and as the vision becomes realized, there is such a wonderful feeling of seeing their hard work become a living product and take on a life of it’s own…

The courage and dedication of that is supremely sexy! (As if Mark Ruffalo wasn’t sexy enough already!)

When someone has a vision, and they have the willpower to stick to it and finish what they start… Well, that is arguably the sexiest thing on the planet. Whether it is the desire to design a building, or start your own company, or start a family, or just be the best at whatever it is you have chosen to do with your life. That passion that drives you is what makes you special. That passion is what draws people to you.

It’s a lesson I’m learning, ever so slowly, but I am learning. Learning and evolving.

I’ve come to grips with the fact that I may not finish my NaNoWriMo story. Not on time anyway. I’ve been working on it as I go, which is counter to the NaNoWriMo process, but I’m happier with the product this way, so I have to decide if it’s the word count, or the end product that I’m going to focus on to make me happy.

I choose the end product.

I’m going to stick to my guns and make my book dream become what I know it can be, and if I reach my word count, then that’s great. I have 10 days to write 35,000 words. I might be able to do it. But I’m not going to give in on the quality.

Passion drives me, and it’s given me a power I didn’t know I had.

I hope everyone can find the same strength I’ve found. Find  your passion, people. Find it and follow your dreams!

And if you need some inspiration, definitely watch Begin Again! (Psst, it’s in Redbox at the moment…)

6 thoughts on “Passion is sexy.

  1. Timelines are good only if they don’t suppress creativity. We adore you! Just keep writing, doll. The timeline will find you. (I’ve been writing a novel for two years…I had a timeline, but put it on hold because I felt inspiration and passion pull me in a different direction.) It will call to you when it’s ready to come out! Have you watched the Liz Gilbert TedTalk lately? http://youtu.be/4HBJa279i8M
    And if that doesn’t inspire you, come visit us anytime at liveclarelesleyblog.com
    xoxo!!–Clare

  2. I hadn’t watched it, but I took a gander before I responded to this and I love it! I love the idea of the disembodied genius that you have to chase down from time to time. That definitely takes some of the pressure off, and it explains why sometimes the words just flow, and sometimes, the story just sits there and stares at me… Thanks for the support! And if you’d like to read some of what I’ve written so far, you can find it here: https://tablo.io/elizabeth-mays/the-gift-of-the-lost-princess

Leave a Reply

