Mid November Recap

I’ve been so busy lately, with NaNoWriMo, and tutoring, and hanging out with the Artist (yeah, I know, I just can’t keep some doors closed!) that I missed the end of October for my monthly recap. In fact I may have missed the September one as well…

I’m not keeping up with things so well, it would seem.

So, what has been going on in my life?

I do love that movie… Home for the Holidays. And with Thanksgiving looming, I thought it would be appropriate. I’ll probably watch it at least 5 times before I go home to see my own family for the holidays. I love the outdated technology, phones with cords, and Polaroid cameras… A simpler time. *Sigh*

But seriously, my life is kind of as exciting as Claudia’s in this movie. I didn’t get fired, but I downgraded from a full fledged teacher to a substitute. And while I don’t have a child, I am in the process of giving metaphorical birth for NaNoWriMo. Most of my energy is actually spent on tutoring and writing my NaNoWriMo novel, which I’ve changed the name of twice (at the suggestion of the Artist).

If you’d like to follow along as I get caught up (I’m only 10,000 words behind schedule), you can read it on Tablo: A Crown of Golden Flowers.

I still need some cover art. I have a few ideas of what I’d like it to be, and I’ve asked the Artist, but I’m not sure he wants to take that on. He’s got projects of his own, and he’s dealing with his own creative self doubts/procrastinations.

In job news, I’ve applied for a part time Interventionist job with a new school district. I was supposed to have heard from them by last Friday, but no luck as of yet.

So, I suppose I’ll take on a few more tutoring students to make up the difference. I was really hoping for the interventionist job. I think helping students to get on level by working with them in small groups, or even one on one, is more in line of what I’m supposed to be doing with my life. In that way I can see up close the Aha moment that I need to feel fulfilled in my job.

Basically, my life is in flux still, but I’m making it work somehow. I’ve been on a handful of dates. I’m not sure if any of the time I’ve spent with the Artist counts as a date, but it’s been… nice. Maybe later I’ll post some updates about that.

In the meantime, here are the top posts and viewer countries from the last 30 days:

5Top 5 posts of mid October to mid November:

1) The death of conversation
2) Time to reinvent myself
3) Is “Gentrification” a race issue?
4) An Attempt at a Halloweeny Story
5) I do not think that word means what you think it means. (This one’s been popular for a while)

Top 3 countries that read my blog:

1) USA
2) United Kingdom
3) Germany

Featured Image is part of a comic from another source and can be found here.

One thought on “Mid November Recap

Leave a Reply

