NaNoWriMo has begun!

It’s really happening. I’ve begun writing my novel for NaNoWriMo. For those of you who are unfamiliar with NaNoWriMo, it stands for National Novel Writing Month. So, for the month of November, while the guys are not shaving their faces in support of cancer awareness (although I don’t quite see how), those of us with a creative bent are attempting to complete a 50,000 page novel throughout the month.

noshave

It began Friday night at midnight. While many of my friends were out partying dressed as witches and angels and knights and things, I and 30 or so literary types were sitting at an IHOP, drinking copious amounts of caffeinated beverages (I’m a tea person, not a coffee person), trying to coax the words out of our brains and onto digital pages.

To reach 50,000 words, I have to write about 1,600 words a day. I’m running a little behind schedule, but I’ll make it up. I hope.

nanowrimocalendar

I’m having some trouble staying true to my original vision, but the goal is to just get words on the page, right now. Hopefully it will get better as I continue, as I get back into the habit of writing creatively. Or maybe I’m just not any good at this whole writing thing…

If you’re curious, I’ll be sharing the story on Tablo so people can read it and leave suggestions or comments.

getting-critique-on-your-co

2 things: Please be gentle with your comments if you hate it. And I need someone to illustrate the cover for me, so if you have someone in mind who could do it, please let me know in the comments below.

And if you’d like to read my story, you can find it on Tablo under the really lame working title The Gift of the Lost Princess.

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo has begun!

Leave a Reply

