Color me disappointed.

So apparently the new preferred break up line amongst guys is a modified “Let’s be friends” shtick. Well, I’m not buying it.

Just yesterday I was going to begin a post about how perhaps I’d been too hard on the Boy in some previous posts, and that maybe I was wrong for the mental tests I’d decided to run on the new guy, but then he proved that my intuition was correct!

He gave me, almost verbatim, the same “I just want to be friends and let’s not be intimate” line that I got from the Boy.  Almost right down to the “nothing is changing except…” part.

This seems to be a pattern I’ve noticed in the guys in my life, no matter what stage we make it to: they ASSUME that me wanting to spend time with them is the equivalent of attachment.

Let me clear that up right now. It is not. I like spending time with people because I am a social person. I like spending time with some more than others for a variety of reasons. Sometimes it’s just because I like their conversation style more, and sometimes it’s because I haven’t quite figured them out yet.

This guy, it was both. I really like talking to him, and the other things we would do together (wink wink, nudge nudge), but I also didn’t really understand where I wanted things to go with him just yet. I was trying to make up my mind, and to gather information about him at the same time.

He thought it meant I was at a stage in the relationship we weren’t at yet.

Oh no, sir! After he failed the test by not finishing his art project (although he won with an unfinished product, and that is really awesome!) I was trying to decide if he was even worth my time, and the more he blew me off, the less I really was into him.

Let’s go ahead and put the nail in that coffin.

So, even intellectual alpha males can be jerks…

Noted.

2 thoughts on “Color me disappointed.

Leave a Reply

