Daily Archives: January 7, 2014

Down the Rabbit Hole

Around the nation, teachers everywhere are falling down in their beds, exhausted from the first day back after the Winter Holiday. And more than a handful are probably questioning their sanity for taking on a job such as teaching.Probably an equal number are happy to see their kiddos again, and I imagine there’s a great deal of crossover between the two groups. I know my feelings are a bit mixed on the subject…

SAMSUNGI really do love my kiddos. In many cases, I see some of my students more than their own parents do, so when I refer to them as my kiddos, I take that title very seriously. Other than Pepper, my fur-baby (see the pic, isn’t he cute?), I don’t have children of my own (yet), so my students are my children. You mess with my kids, you mess with me, buddy! So watch yourself!

But, let’s be honest, they’re not my children. You know how I know that? Because I’m often not privy to important information that I SHOULD know. I’m still unsure why parents don’t disclose more info to schools/teachers. I do understand that often they don’t want their children labeled a certain way. I get that, I really do, but there are just some things a teacher should know! Things that NOT knowing put the child, other students, the teacher, and who knows who else at risk.

My journey into the insane world of teaching actually touched on a bit of insanity today. In order to not break any confidentiality laws, I won’t disclose the details of what happened today. Suffice it to say that there was an altercation between 2 students today which involved art supplies. Some of those supplies may or may not have included a pair (or pairs) of scissors.  Continue reading Down the Rabbit Hole