Only 4 days?

Has it really only been 4 days since my last post? Given the roller coaster my life has been on, these last 4 days seem like 4 lifetimes! I know it’s a cliche, but bare with me.

Since my last post, I have been working on a project (or 3) on the side. Like I said in my very first post, this blog was set up because I love writing, or more accurately, I love the written word. This blog is something I’ve been working on to stretch my writing muscle; to get me back into the game, so to speak (there I go with the cliches again). As a result, I’ve got two writing projects in the works, although I don’t know if I’ll ever finish them.

One is the story of what it was like growing up as a minority in a white family. It was told to me by a dear friend (although I would never say such a thing to his face) that this would be something that other people would like to read. I had been tossing the idea around of using this blog primarily for that project instead of the somewhat disjointed ramblings that I currently have been writing about. A small part of my brain thinks this a great idea! It gives me focus and would help me to establish just exactly who my target audience is/should be. After all, isn’t that the key to having a successful blog.

What exactly does it mean to have a successful blog, anyhow? Is blogging the new “it” medium? With everything happening online these days, will blogs replace magazines and, eventually, even books? Who knows. That’s a topic that I’m not prepared to tackle today, but I will hold onto it for a day when my life is a little less complicated.

The other project is a possible movie script based on the small school where I teach. We’ll come back to that one in a moment, as the small school where I teach is a major factor in the rest of the excitement that has taken place in the 4 days since my last post.

Since my last post, I have been given an eviction notice, if it can be truly called that, and been told that my teaching contract will not be renewed for next year. Ironically, the job and the house fell into my hands in the same day, so I suppose it only makes sense that I should find out that I’m losing them both at the same time.

First, the woman who owns my house passed away, and the person taking care of her estate has decided to sell the house in which I’m currently living. She sent me an eviction notice via text message…And gave me seven days to move. Obviously, I’m fighting this one. Seven days to move, sent via text message, when I’m two months from finishing the school year is unacceptable. Until she follows the proper procedure, I’m going to continue on as if I never received the notice, because, for all legal purposes, I have not received a notice.

Then, two days later, my principal informed me that my contract would not be renewed because I “can’t get along” with a particular class of students. These students are known for not following any of the rules set by any of the teachers. In fact, they tried to bully one of the male teachers, and nothing was done about it.

So am I upset about these events? Not as much as I should be. It seems to me that one cycle has ended, and it seems that I’ve come full circle; like I said, I got the job and the house the same day, so losing them in the same week seems a pretty definitive sign that my time here is finished.

You’ll learn that signs are pretty important to me…

Now the job hunt has begun, and it’s a hefty project all by itself. I’ve decided that just as this job was handed to me, the next phase in my life will happen in a similar fashion. Meaning that, while I fully intend to put in a ton of work to find a job, the right job/place will jump out at me just at it did with this one.

I will miss my kiddos, though. They’ve taught me a lot, and I love each of them as if they were my own kids, even the ones who give me a hard time. I only wish that handful of kids would realize that I’m not the enemy; never have been.

In the meantime, I’m going to write. I have this idea of a teacher movie which is more of a love story than a teacher movie. I have enough material from this little school that I should be able to write a fairly interesting story.

Of course, I don’t want to paint the school in a bad light, but there are plenty of things going on there that shouldn’t be happening. This is why I can’t quite give too much detail about it, and I’m not sure if it will ever be finished. It may just be therapy.

Now the other story, the one about me… I might actually write that one. Expect in the next few weeks or so a sample of it for your perusal. I need to know if this is even something people would want to read.

Hopefully, things will calm down in my life so that I can get back to writing! I’ve realized just how much I missed it!

One thought on “Only 4 days?

  1. Eric says:

    This dear friend must be very smart and hansome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lollol
    For reference see “black like me” I forget who wrote it but every english class had to read this!

Leave a Reply

